10 More Ways to Extend a Brand

There’s just something about seeing a design in context that makes clients throw money at you.

Diamond Alexander
RE: Write
5 min readApr 10, 2019

--

Shameless personal brand photo :) / Image from Unsplash — @modernessentials

Here’s a follow-up to my first list of 25 ways to extend a brand. I think it’s incredibly gratifying and exciting to see 2D designs being applied to their real world environments. Eyes light up when someone can visualize what was once a bunch of lines and colors on an artboard being wrapped around a water bottle or a plane or a pair of shoes. It’s like a visual designer’s party trick!

I’ve rounded up a few more fun ways to extend your brand designs and included links and inspirational images this time around. I hope this list helps you get creative and think up even more ways to showcase your work for your portfolio or client work.

1. Subscription Box
Digging for design inspiration on the Dieline recently, I came across this fun branding product from Arby’s! It reminds me of the random but cool products and collabs that Supreme will sell (like selling a brick…). This one may take a little extra work Photoshopping in the items but maybe you could focus on branding the outside of the box and then mocking up a few of the items that might go inside?

Arby’s Subscription Box on the Dieline

2. Moist towelettes
I’ve been keeping a running list of unique and random branding opportunities and this one was near the top. I was eating at a restaurant recently and when I saw the generic branding of the wet napkins thought, “It would be really memorable if these were branded.” This would be a great idea for a BBQ brand or even an outdoor event or fair. I didn’t see any decent, single-use mockups so this may require extra Photoshop work on your part but I think the fun factor will make up for the additional time.

Custom towelettes on Etsy

3. Paper bag
I was inspired to look for a paper bag mockup after seeing the food bags designed for MoMA by the legendary design firm Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv. Down to the smallest detail or touchpoint, they made sure the new MoMA branding was evident. They even made sugar packets!

This would be great for popcorn or even a warm cookie. I’m sure you could Photoshop a little chocolate chip cookie half peeking out of a bag!

Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv for MoMA
Chermayeff & Geismar & Haviv for MoMA

4. Spa or hotel slippers
I had never considered something like this until I came across the free mockup recently. Imagine showing a client an image like this with their new logo “embossed” onto the front and a rectangular tag “stitched” into the back. So cool!

from Yellow Images

5. Shopping or gift bag
This would be perfect for an up and coming clothing or boutique brand, as well as for artisanal brands like a watch company or gourmet chocolate store. It’s delicate and gives off a different vibe than a cotton tote would, for example. I think this would also work for an event (think swag bags).

from Zippy Pixels

6. Takeout Box
This would be great for a restaurant or other food brand. Maybe even for a farmer’s market or food truck brand. I’m designing a brand guide for a food truck company right now for a class assignment and I think I’ll use something like this in my presentation.

from ZippyPixels

7. Skateboard (1 and 2) or snowboard
I think this would be awesome for a brand that appeals to athletic and/or extreme sport enthusiasts. Could be anything from a granola bar brand that sponsors athletes to a cool music artist.

In a separate class, I’m working on a brand collaboration between a popular skate apparel brand and any brand of my choice. Maybe a special edition skateboard would be a cool addition to my product lineup?

from Mockupworld

8. Hair Dye Tube
I think this would be really unique and fun for maybe a festival or party brand #swag. This mockup is technically for paint tubes but I think it could easily be tweaked for different applications — like fun hair dye colors! Or even sauces and condiments, like those minced garlic tubes in grocery stores.

from ZippyPixels

9. Shipping Boxes
Help a client imagine what it’ll be like sending their products all over the world with a mockup of branded shipping boxes. I think of Amazon’s boxes that feature their logo as well as branded/advertising elements like packing tape and stickers. It becomes more than just a container for products but it becomes a brand “product” in and of itself.

from ZippyPixels

10. Corporate Waiting Area w/ Poster
This one may be a little bit of a stretch but I think this could work! With some Photoshop color magic, you could alter the room colors to better match the client’s brand. Then, the poster (which is the real star of the mockup) could be a space for on-brand internal marketing (maybe this’ll get you extra work/$$$?) or to showcase welcome messages for visitors. Get creative!

from ZippyPixels

I hope this was helpful! It’s fun for me to brainstorm new ways to show a client what their beautiful new brand will look like in “real world” situations. I think the more you can show realistic environments and contexts, the easier it’ll be to sell your designs.

Happy Designing!

--

--

Diamond Alexander
RE: Write

Visual Designer + Developer building cool stuff in Denver, CO. MA in Strategic Communication Design at CU Boulder (August 2019)