Audience

Do We Live In Glass Houses?

Someone is always watching or listening.

Mike Sansone
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2024

--

A woman looking at you through a magnifying glass up close.
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio via pexels

I learned long ago, before cameras on our phones were so popular that someone was always watching.

Hiding in the shadows wasn’t really hiding. The shadows probably had video cameras or motion detectors.

When I started working as a pastor, that life was really ‘glass house’ living. It was like every move, and every word was being watched and heard. So, I became comfortable with it. I got comfortable with it for peace in my mind and in my spirit.

And I improved because of it.

Knowing that eyes and ears would almost always be on what I did or said, I responded to life accordingly. Rather than feel pinched in by the audience, I embraced the opportunity.

Later, as I worked with at-risk youth, the same thing happened. The boy's ranch I worked at had seven houses full of teenagers, and information was like currency. If someone had some gossip, it was surely and quickly shared. So, I removed the potential for gossip by always showing good character.

Even when no one was around.

Recently, as I was working in large senior citizen communities. Residents on four floors in luxury apartments. Family members visiting at any…

--

--

Mike Sansone
Read or Die!

Hi :-) - At our core, we all want to laugh, be listened to, and want to be loved. Managing Editor/Owner of Reaching Hearts & also Leading With Love publications