Humanism And the Afterlife….

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2023
A stained-glass church windows. Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

The funeral was of an old family friend, a lady who had known me as a teenager.

She was elderly and had lived a good life, so although it was a sad occasion, we were there celebrating her life rather, than mourning her death. This lady believed in humanism, and the funeral was conducted by an official from that organisation.

I have no religious beliefs. I believe that people should believe or worship in the way they wish, as long as it does not harm people or animals. I suppose I sit on the fence.

Humanists believe that there is no afterlife, and that death is final, and I respect that, I neither agree nor disagree because I don’t know the answer.

The funeral was carried out in a respectful and dignified manner. The lady conducting it explained to the mourners that humanism was based on the belief of there was no afterlife, she did not preach, just a gentle explanation.

However, at the end of her speech, she turned to the coffin and said “where ever you are Gladys (not the deceased real name) I hope you are at peace”. Now I thought that was at odds with Humanism.

If there was no afterlife: who was she talking to?

Join Medium by using my referral link.

More articles written by me.

When I Started to Hate Bullfighting

A sad sobering and melancholy visit on Crete.

Do you think I should be ashamed of what I did?

This time I did nearly die.

--

--