I had to steal an idea from a friend.

I hope she will forgive me.

barry robinson
Read or Die!
3 min readApr 28, 2024

--

A masked man on a laptop. Photo by Bermix Studio on Unsplash

Having been lost for ideas about what to write, I thought I would plunder some of my friends’ writing and see if I could purloin some ideas. It sort of paid off.

My medium friend Jessica Levine also found herself in the same boat as me in the lack of ideas department and decided to answer a prompt.

Now I am not a great prompt person regarding answering questions, as you will soon realise. I have only replied to one other prompt, and that was under duress. My answers are not as erudite as Jessica’s. So, I apologise for them now. Feel free to admonish me in your comments.

Here they are.

1 Inspired by an All in the Family episode, where Mike and Archie argue about this. Do you put both socks on and then both shoes, or one sock, one shoe and then the other foot?

I have never seen this show, but I can answer the question easily. Both socks on first and then shoes.

I think it would be difficult if I put the shoes on before my socks. Difficult, and stupid. Or have I misunderstood the question?

2 Do you face toward the shower head or away?

Always away and I rarely have my shoes and socks on.

3 What is your favorite vegetable?

I don’t really have a strong relationship with any particular vegetable.

I would not want to hurt the feeling of any carrot or turnip. So, I will stay neutral on this one if that is OK?

4 Are you serious or humorous?

I have a very bad habit of inserting something humorous in my articles even when I am trying to be serious. So, I guess the answer is, I think I am humorous, but others may find me irritating.

5 What is your favorite hobby?

I used to play golf, and I still occasionally play my guitar. But only when my wife is out. She says that is when she enjoys my playing the most.

I almost forgot Writing. 😀

6 Have you ever won anything? Elaborate.

I won a school prize for something. I can’t remember what for, but I remember the book. It was “The Swiss Family Robinson.” Odd title to pick, considering, what my name is. 🙄

I also won a prize in a singing contest. But I am saving that for an article. Sorry.

7 When typing on your phone, do you use your thumbs?

I really don’t know. I will check and get back to you.

(I just checked. The answer is no.)

8 Do you have a weird talent?

I think it would be weird if I actually had any real talent, weird or otherwise.

9 What three words do you think someone would use to describe you?

Good for nothing. 😆

10 What was your favorite cartoon as a kid?

As a kid it was probably Tom and Jerry. As an adult I like the Simpsons, so true to life. Although my wife does not have blue hair and I am slimmer and slightly less yellow than Homer. 😂

I would like to thank Lynn L. Alexander for creating this prompt and getting me off the writers’ block.

Thanks for reading.

Here is my first attempt at responding to prompts.

I have been driven to the Deep Dive Challenge.

--

--