I have been driven to the Deep Dive Challenge

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readApr 20, 2023
angry man tearing his hair Photo by Ryan Snaadt on Unsplash

I have been women handled into doing the Deep Dive challenge.

I thought I had slipped off the radar when Caroline Baker said she could not tag me. My hopes were dashed when Trisha Faye came to her rescue and tagged me. I am no coward but when two ladies are on my case I know when I am beaten. I know some men will be asking am I a man or a mouse?

Pass me the cheese.

Here are my reluctant answers to challenge.

What is your favourite book and why?

Cider with Rosie.

It is a very evocative read.

What is your favourite quote and why?

Never have a meeting on Wednesday. It ruins two weekends.

Because it’s true

What is your favourite poetry verse and why?

I used to read Shakespeare’s sonnets. But don’t ask me which ones.

Who is your favourite writer and why?

Difficult to say. I used to read a lot of Sci-Fi.

So, Isaac Asimov for that genre.

Simon Raven is the author I have read most. So, he goes on the short list

Who is your favourite poet and why?

Shakespeare. For his sonnets.

What is your preferred colour and why?

I wear whatever my wife picks for me.

What is your preferred animal and why?

Cats.

Because that’s what we have.

What is your favourite movie and why?

I have two.

Topsy Turvey.

It is a good story about the writing of “The Mikado.”

Glengarry Glenross.

Both films have strong story lines and intelligent scripts, things sadly missing in today’s films.

What is your favourite music piece and why?

The guitar solo from the Carpenters song “Goodbye to Love.” Played by the late Tony Peluso.

What is your favourite song and why?

Bob Dylan’s “If You See Her Say Hello”.

It is a very evocative love song. It’s on his album “Blood on the Tracks.” Give it a listen.

What would you call yourself if you had to choose another name?

I have had a nickname for most of my life. So my name was changed for me.

What are your hobbies?

Writing, reading (when I can) and playing one of my six guitars.

Do you remember a Medium article that your found exceptional and why?

I find most of the articles exceptionally good.

(Trisha and Caroline, am I allowed out now?) 🙄

Join Medium with my referral link

More from me

Is-this-the-stupidest-invention-ever

Algernon-the-clever-pigeon

Do-I-look-like-a-terrorist.

Dementia-the-movie

--

--