Will Irish eyes still be smiling?

It seems the Irish government is reverting to nannyism to curb their populations’ fondness for alcoholic Beveridge’s.

barry robinson
Read or Die!
2 min readJul 11, 2023

--

a glass of stout on a table. Photo by Elevate on Unsplash

They are planning to put warning labels on wine, spirits, liqueurs and beer, alerting potential imbibers of the perils of the demon drink.

The warning will inform people of the health risks of drinking alcohol.

They also intend to display the warnings on any locations that sell alcohol. If my memory of Dublin is correct, this will mean almost any retailer. But I was there on a stag weekend, so as her late Majesty once said, recollections may vary.

Ireland is a member of the EU, and the EU is a bit miffed about these warnings.

Many of the countries in the union are producers and exporters of wines, beers and spirits, so this initiative has gone down like a concrete submarine.

And, Ireland makes one of the world’s most famous and popular stouts.

I wonder how the population of Ireland, one of the most easy-going and likeable people on this planet, will react to this?

I must declare a bias here. I have a very high regard for the Irish people. My ex-business partner and friend of many years is an Irishman.

And I, like President Biden, also have great- great grandparents who were Irish.

However, unlike President Biden, I do not consider myself Irish, and I do not have an irrational dislike of the English, for obvious reasons. I am not stupid.

So, I do wonder how the Irish people, many who are well known for their appreciation for the odd tipple, will respond to this directive.

I am sure the authorities mean well, and I wish them luck with it, but if I were them, I wouldn’t hold my breath.

Now I know only a small part of me is Irish, but I think that is enough for me to go over the pub for a pint of Guinness.

Begorrah!

More articles written by me.

Would the BBC do this?

Do I Spy AI?

Do fantasize about an alternative career?

When writers block hits, I resort to meandering.

--

--