Do I Spy AI?

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2023
A robot. Photo by Rock'n Roll Monkey on Unsplash

It appears there are some people who are using AI exclusively to write their articles.

I have been followed by a couple of people who appear to be fairly new to medium.

Whenever I receive a notification, someone is following me. I always check them out.

The first alert came when I commented on an article, I believed too good to be true.

I asked the writer how he did his research.

His reply told me this writer had no knowledge of English spelling or punctuation. There was no way this article was written by him. (It was a male.)

I have asked the same question to the second suspect, but he has yet to reply.

So, what alerted me to AI being used as a copy and paste exercise?

It was the repetition of the title of the article in the body copy.

It reminded me of the early days of internet writing when writers would scatter keywords and phrases throughout their writing in the hope, they would achieve high SEO. In those days, it was called stuffing.

I also believe people have been using AI for longer than some of us would like to believe.

In my early days on medium, I read an article that was filled with a repetition of the article’s title. I thought it was an example of extremely bad writing.

I suspect it was the use of AI.

Has anyone else seen suspect articles?

Some more articles written by me.

Do fantasize about an alternative career?

What is Blue Grass Music?

This isn’t a crime against fashion. It is an atrocity.

Can you out grow an allergy?

When writers block hits, I resort to meandering.

--

--