The Most Important Decision You Make When Buying a Home

Eric G Underwood
Real World Real Estate
8 min readAug 7, 2020

--

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

This is the third installment in The Essential First-Time Home Buyer Guide. If you missed the first article ‘To Buy or Not To Buy,’ you can read it HERE. The Essential First-Time Home Buyer Guide is being created as a part of Shaunta GrimesBlog-Your -Own-Book Challenge.

We completed the final walkthrough without a hitch. The home looked incredible. New homes don’t have that amazing smell a new car, but it is special to know you will be the first family to put your touches on a house. There were a few minor repairs needed, but what new construction doesn’t require a couple of minor tweaks. Both REALTORS, the builder, and I gathered in the kitchen to discuss next week’s closing.

Even though this was years ago, it stands vivid in my memories because it was the only hiccup in an otherwise cordial meeting. The parties had already discussed when the repairs would occur and the timing of closing without incident. The last item to clarify was how my wife and I were paying the remaining balance due to the builder. We owed him a little money outside of the sale of the home because we exceeded our negotiated appliance allowance.

“I can write you a check for the $1900 we still owe you?” I asked.

His confusion was evident as he looked up from his notebook. “I believe you owe me $2900.”

--

--

Eric G Underwood
Real World Real Estate

Journeyman in life. Husband, Dad, Soccer Coach. Keep Moving Forward! REALTOR in Northwest Georgia. Visit me at https://ericgunderwood.com/