Really Simple Roadmap

June 2018

Drew Thomas
Really Simple Store
4 min readMay 30, 2018

--

Now that the OST Alpha 2 challenge is over, I’ve decided to continue building out a token economy inside of Really Simple Store (of course). The reaction to the idea was unexpectedly positive, and I’m encouraged to keep things moving.

I’m also interested in doing this correctly, in coordination with the Alpha 3 challenge and the OST beta period.

Here are some thoughts and a timeline I’m sharing publicly, if only to hold myself accountable 😉.

Really Simple Store 2.0

June 2018 — July 2018

I started a brand new version of Really Simple Store’s core components for the OST project. This new version is improved in a lot of ways, and the ultimate goal is to update existing stores to the new platform.

Both the current version and the new version can be active, so I have a lot of freedom around what features I have to pull into the new system (in other words, if I cut some of the complexity from the original version, stores that want it can stay on the original platform).

What I’ve built so far:

  • New API
  • New Cart
  • New Products dashboard
  • New Shop pages

What I need to build:

  • New Store editor
  • New Orders dashboard
  • New Receipts pages
  • Transactional emails
  • Live payment integration and https everywhere

The ultimate goal here is to have the new platform ready to launch but hold off on launching. This ensures I can capitalize on a potential initial wave of publicity or experimenters when OST is officially launched, and it gives me plenty of time to build and test the new platform while OST is finishing its alpha and beta periods.

Wallet

TBD, Q3 2018ish

The next OST Alpha challenge involves the wallet, and there’s a lot of talk about what will or won’t be possible. Once we all know more, I’ll know what I’m doing here.

Marketplace

TBD, Q4 2018ish

The marketplace is a large component of this project that I haven’t fully fleshed out. It’s where stores can search for eligible products that they can sell on their own store, and it’s going to be a UI challenge no matter what (but a welcome one).

Since the marketplace itself doesn’t come into play until after the tokens are live, I don’t need to worry about it just yet. However, I’m thinking, researching, and weighing options for the best user experience for this section. I’m also open to input.

Educational Materials

August 2018 — ?

Since a token economy is a new idea for people, I know that I’ll need a ton of educational / help material. Website FAQs, video explainers, customer support email templates, etc…

Simple Shipping Integration

TBD

I plan to launch without any shipping. The current platform has complex shipping rules and all kinds of options, based on what customers have needed over the years. I’d like to rein it in for the new version.

I found a great API where I can pull USPS prices for US and DHL for everywhere else, pay for postage and print labels all directly inside of Really Simple Store. I’d like to integrate this in the smartest, simplest way with the least amount of options possible. But we’ll see what I can actually pull off!

Revenue Streams

TBD

Stores are charged a low monthly fee and only charged in months when they sell something. That’s not a sustainable revenue model to grow the business. We don’t take any cut of sales on the platform, so what else can generate revenue?

Really Simple Merch

Taking advantage of the token economy, I can create a store on the platform that sells T-shirts, hats, bags, etc. for other stores and brands. I’d use on-demand creation and fulfillment, so any customization is possible. I’d work with stores and help them create their merch for free, then allow them to sell it on their site. I get paid money, and they get paid in tokens. I have to pay for materials, printing, and some tokens, but I can make decent profit nonetheless, and I have a hunch that popular stores could sell a lot of merch.

With this idea, stores get free, no-hassle merch to sell, but they also earn tokens, which should encourage them to offer their own products in the marketplace and strengthen the network.

Partnerships

Along the lines of the merch idea, we can also think bigger. Through partnerships with on-demand printing and fulfillment companies, independent music sellers, on-demand manufacturing services, etc., we can offer more functionality in the types of products a store can offer. And make referral money from the partners.

Addons

There is also a ton of upsell potential, but it will have to be balanced with keeping everything simple. One that I know a lot of stores want is an email list (one charge) and some form of easy, automated email outreach (another charge). There can also be smaller upcharges, like an Instagram feed on the homepage or an “alert bar” across the top of the site for sales. Discount codes could even be an upsell…

The most important thing in my mind is to keep everything simple, focused, and in line with the mission of Really Simple Store. That’s not an easy task, but it’s what I love most about working on my own vision!

Here’s my final video submission for the OST Alpha 2 POC challenge…

--

--