*After Being Boosted

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn
4 min readDec 8, 2023

--

What to Expect

Image by Adobe Firefly

There are some great articles on Medium about how to get Boosted.

You wait, write, clap, write, highlight, write, comment…and write — yet you still aren’t Boosted.

Then it happens — your article is BOOSTED!

You knew what you wrote was good but you didn’t have a clue it was THAT good.

So, you sit there in shock and JOY. You did it!!! Someone recognized that what you’d written was GOOD.

You are thankful and wonder what happens next…

Get ready for the avalanche of views! It is surprising!!! From a normal amount of daily views, now you are shocked at the difference being boosted makes. For example, you may be used to 50 to 100 or more views per day and then all of a sudden you may have 500 views or MORE!

Can you sit back and relax now that you’ve ‘arrived’? NO!!!

Now the work begins!

It’s time to answer all of the comments in a kind and thoughtful way. Someone thought enough of your article to take the time to leave that personal note to you. Now it is your turn to reciprocate.

In all probability, you will have new followers!

Since Medium is a. community, it’s time to acknowledge those who show up on your page. In addition to reading each new follower’s work (that takes TIME), then we can clap, highlight and comment, knowing that you may have found a new Medium community friend.

If your new follower is just a follow for the purpose of their gaining followers, it will become apparent. You won’t hear from them again.

Yet for those who do appear again, make sure you serve them well.

How I do it…

When I see a new follower, I read one of their latest posts and always make the effort to highlight, clap and respond. I then enter their name into my list of Followers in a computer file. Beside each name, I make a note of their interests and/or their field of expertise.

How is my Follower List helpful?

Due to their name and interest being quickly noted, when I write future articles, I can use that list to tag someone so that, in their email from Medium, they will see an article from me. If they are interested in that topic, they will show up again and maybe again in your notifications. THAT is how one builds a readership and furthers community engagement.

What happens to your views after being BOOSTED?

Image from Medium statistics

Don’t be shocked please. Within a few days or a week, you will notice that your views begin to fall back to where they were before being Boosted.

What is my strategy?

Due to being so busy answering notifications and continuing to read articles, after being BOOSTED I always try to have an article or two (or more) in my drafts all ready to be posted.

I watch my stats carefully for that downturn. Then I post quickly, trying to head off too many low views over too many days’ time.

Of course, I continue to explore publications where I can increase the number of eyes on future articles.

It will be fun to see if being a Friend of Medium helps us get Boosted more often as we continue to get better and better in our writing.

That’s all there is to it as we continue to enjoy Medium and all of its benefits to us as writers!

I should add that, to my surprise, I’ve been boosted twice:

On Being a Shepherdess: https://medium.com/p/97bc4934f245

Please Meet Trike: https://medium.com/p/fe403adf1781

If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.
If you have any comments about being boosted, please share them.

Thank you to taking the time to read! I hope YOU get Boosted soon!

If you would like to be added or deleted from my list, please let me know.

Mary Papas Alma Curry Ken Van Camp Sharon Hillam Diana Pippin Paula Thomas Doris Rouse Jemimah Seow Haley K. Lu Skerdoo Susie Winfield Nikita Rayne Johnson Sharon Meyers Julie KingGood Kimberly Payne Nancy H. Vest Esther Serwaa Akoto David James

--

--

Dawn Ulmer
REFLECTIONS by Dawn

CEO of myself sometimes, retired BS R.N., author of '365 Practical Devotional for Anxious Women' . Enjoys photography and writing!