Re Human Day 109

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
2 min readJan 4, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

Today I was in a car with my family 2 hours on our way somewhere and 2 hours on our way back.

Daily Habits

Books: Continued listening to Bad Blood and Rest: Why you get more done when you work less. Some notes from today:

According to a 2014 survey, 1 in 5 startup founders got their ideas during a vacation. Examples: Instagram, nuclear reactors, word processor.

4 factors for deliberate recovery:

Relaxation: low activation, positive effect

Control: controlling time / controlling what to do

Mastery experiences: engaging interesting things you do well (FLOW)

Mental detachment from work

Meditation: did 20 minutes meditation in the car. It’s harder than usual because the car moves.

Digital Drawing: Watched this video on how to draw realistic portraits. And drew a little fireplace.

Re Human Extended Activity: Practiced Music Production. Created and put together some sounds for the 100 days takeaways video.

Writing: This post and part of the script for the 100 days takeaways video.

Piano: Practiced City of Stars in the morning.

Fitness: After the long drives when we were back at night, I was tired. But I still went out in the cold and mist (we’re in the Smoky Mountains, I can clearly see why they’re called Smoky) and practiced soccer juggling and push ups, sprints, running, and dips on a bench.

Soccer trick juggling: did a max of 2 around the world in a row.

Random Surprise

“A river cuts through rock, not because of its power, but because of its persistence.” — Jim Watkins

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com