Re Human Day 193

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas every week.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

This past Wednesday I traveled to Mexico City and I got back last night, Sunday.

I saw my girlfriend (we’re long distance so hadn’t seen her in a while), her friends, my mom, my little brother, and several close friends who I grew up with in Mexico. It was a fantastic time. I don’t see these people I love often, so I decided to focus on them.

Did way less Re Human things than usual, but some things I tried in the trip:

  • since I was staying at a hotel with no gym, tried just doing a Tabata bodyweight exercise before showering
  • dancing at a live salsa place
  • using music-making apps on my phone
  • more in-person market-research for my startup
  • not writing about the day process, for several of the days
  • plane meditation, reading, writing, thinking, sleeping

Decided I’m going to be writing week-compilation posts instead of daily posts.

Still trying to do the activities each day, just experimenting with one weekly process post instead of daily process post. I think it could be better for a couple of reasons including:

  • aggregates more value per post (daily posts split up value)
  • easier to keep up / read — I feel there are more people that could read something once a week than something every day
  • my activities are actually week-based, so it will be easier to see the full spectrum of things I’m learning
  • This will create more time for me every day
  • I can focus on making the weekly post higher quality
  • fun to experiment with new ways of doing things

Thoughts?

Had started writing today’s regular process post, good to be back in my routine and rituals. So here it is:

Daily Habits

Books: Today I continued with Walt Disney’s biography.

Mickey’s first name was Mortimer.

Disney revolutionized animation by making musical cartoon. (With Mickey).

Mickey was shaped to elicit love.

Walt made Mickey a reflection and expression of himself.

Some people say Walt’s success came because he wasn’t trying to make money; he was trying to have fun and make things he’s proud of.

Walt suffered a breakdown from working too much and a miscarriage of their child.

“The most important thing for art is the evoke an emotional response”

Meditation: 20 minutes in the morning.

Morning Dance: clicked shuffle on Buxton Patio Vibes and danced to one song.

Digital Drawing: Today I finished the video lesson on Keying the Drawing Part 2.

Piano: Today I practiced the Ludovico’s I Giorno and La La Land’s theme on Flowkey.

Writing: This post, code, and journaling (day and night).

Re Human Dynamic Activity: VR Art.

Today I started doing some modeling on Blender (had the idea to make a Rhino), but Blender froze a couple times.

So watched some videos by this new guy I discovered who does amazing modeling with Blender:

Soccer trick juggling: Practiced around the world and hop the world. Improving towards doing two consecutive around the worlds.

Fitness: Today I got 46 chin ups in one minute (trying to pass the world record, 57). Lower than my current record, probably from so much eating in Mexico City (amazing food). Focused rest of workout on heavy weights for biceps and abs.

Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly present of the best content I’ve ever found, and updates, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com