Re Human Day 43

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readOct 30, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I finished Finite and Infinite Games in the morning. It was good but I had much higher expectations (had heard great things about the book from several people). Maybe it’s because I had already looked into the main concepts. For example, I think this Video by Simon Sinek about Finite vs Infinite Games applied to leadership is better communicated/ more insightful/applicable:

Then I started reading Creativity: the psychology of discovery and invention and it’s soooooo good. Been taking so many notes. I hadn’t heard much about this book but I got it because I really liked the FLOW book so I wanted to read more books by the same author/scientist. It was a great decision. Just a bit of notes from today:

An idea or a creative insight doesn’t emerge from a single person; it’s often from multiple sources.

It is easier to enhance creativity by changing conditions in the environment than by trying to make people think more creatively.

Creativity results from the interaction of three elements:

1. A culture/domain that contains symbolic rules

2. A person who brings novelty to this symbolic domain

3. A field of experts who recognize and validate innovation.

Creativity is a systemic, not an individual phenomenon.

Cultures appear when people decide to give more attention to certain things than to other things.

Fields can affect the rate or creativity in at least three ways:

1. being reactive or proactive

2. Having a narrow or a broad filter for the selection of novelty. Both extremes are bad.

3. How well connected they are to the overall social system and how much support they can garner

Re Human Extended Activity: Mondays is VR Artist and Architect.

This past weekend a friend sent me this link of a 3D visualization of global population by terrain, and I hadn’t taken a look until today. It’s extremely cool: https://pudding.cool/2018/10/city_3d/

Today I also came across this very cool way of visualizing Van Gogh paintings (but really just a way to visualize data): https://vikusviewer.fh-potsdam.de/vangogh/. But this one isn’t really in 3D. It would be cooler if it were.

I then tried to modify my VR Library project to start looking like my last Monday’s re-design/brainstorming of how it should look like. Still feeling there should be a much better setup to edit/create in VR. This is probably the reason there aren’t many awesome VR experiences yet. I then looked more online to find if there’s better setups if I don’t have a VR headset.

This article was useful.

And then I came across this awesome AR.js framework (to build AR webapps).

My phone displayed this:

With two super simple steps to see their example:

  1. Open this hiro marker image in your desktop browser.
  2. Open this augmented reality webapps in your phone browser, and point it at your screen.

Done, you should see the same thing 😱.

Digital Drawing & Painting: Today is the first day I started with my experiment of making this a daily habit too. I started with just 5minutes. Drew something useful for my long-form systems vs goals article:

Can you guess what this represents?

Writing: This post and a daily thought.

Fitness: My warmup (full body), legs, & handstands practice.

Meditation: 20 mins in the morning with the Muse headband.

Piano: Still practicing recall (best way to memorize/learn ) for La La Land’s Sebastian and Mia’s theme.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I didn’t get two around the worlds in a row but I was pretty close — with the new shoes I’ve been using.

Random Surprise

An awesome way to interact with music:

Read the next post. Read the previous post (a weekly recap!).

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com