Re Human Day 44

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readOct 31, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Been really enjoying Creativity: the psychology of discovery and invention. Some notes from today:

Since creativity is a property of a complex system, one cannot say what is the personality of a creative person independent of a domain. The personality must adapt depending on the domain and field (& time and conditions).

But if he were to choose one trait that would describe creative people it would be “complexity”. Ability to move from one extreme to the other.

Some examples of this “complexity” ability:

High energy but calm.

Smart but naive.

Extraversion and introversion.

Playful and disciplined.

Ambitious and selfless.

Re Human Extended Activity: Mondays is Music Production.

So today I realized that what I worked on in my last session didn’t save… I probably closed the project and quickly clicked “do not save” also quickly, without realizing. But I remembered what were most of the things I did so I could do them quickly / I felt more experienced doing them. Then I also learned how to extract vocals from an audio file using Audacity (had to download Audacity).

Here is a snippet of my track using Leonardo Di Caprio talking in Inception as the vocals:

This is the old version for a comparison (pay special attention to the drop)

Digital Drawing & Painting: Today (second day of this being a daily habit) I found it hard to know what to paint that would fit in 5mins. I spent several of the 5 minutes jumping around my previous drawings and seeing what I could do/how I could improve them/what new thing could I draw.

This is one of the things I think I improved:

made the palm tree leaves brighter so they would contrast more from the ocean (was barely visible before)

Writing: This post and a daily thought.

Fitness: My warmup (full body), legs, handstands, and human flag practice. Today while I was practicing my human flag, my feet accidentally touched the roof. Then I pushed against the roof and it was actually useful for practicing. Posted an instagram story about it.

Meditation: 10 mins in the morning and 10mins at night.

Piano: Still practicing recall (best way to memorize/learn ) for La La Land’s Sebastian and Mia’s theme.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I also didn’t get two around the worlds in a row. Reading this book on Creativity/Flow I realize how prone soccer trick juggling is for feeling flow: you know what you need to be doing, you’re at the edge of your abilities, you’re required full focus, you enjoy the process, you don’t mind what other people think, you feel tangible progress, etc. All important components of flow.

Random Surprise

“Remember there’s no such things as a small act of kindness. Every act creates a ripple with no logical end.” — Scott Adams

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com