Re Human Day 50

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I finished Creativity: the psychology of discovery and invention. Highly recommended. Then I started Non-Violent Communication. Some notes from today:

Creativity depends on making connections between fields, but language obfuscation / cognitive distance increases because of domain jargon.

A creative insight happens in the convergence between an instability in a domain and a mind of a person who is able to cope with the problem.

Everyone has the potential to live a creative life. But there are four main obstacles:

Too many demands, Easily distracted, Laziness, Not knowing what to do with our energies

Incredible meta skill: ability to turn any activity into a flow activity.

The purpose of NVC is to help us connect with ourselves and others in a way that makes compassionate living natural.

What is Alive in you?

Be very mindful of the world after “I feel”. Is it really a feeling? For example I feel Amy is stupid is not a feeling. I feel inadequate is also not a feeling. I feel ignored is not a feeling.

Meditation: 21 minutes in the morning and 21 minutes in the afternoon.

Re Human Extended Activity: Mondays is VR Artist & Architect.

Last week as I was working on my startup and looking at AWS (amazon web services) stuff, I saw that they had a VR/AR platform they call Sumerian. I made a note to check it out, so I checked it out today.

Interface is cool but didn’t see lots of ways to integrate it with code.

Then I spent some time in my existing library — mostly removed stuff.

Writing: This post, code, and a daily thought.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Today I started drawing a tree:

Fitness: warmup, handstands, abs, and human flag practice.

Piano: Today I kept practicing the first part of La La Land’s Sebastian and Mia’s theme.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I didn’t get two around the worlds in a row but enjoyed the activity a lot.

Random Surprise

An idea worth thinking about:

“Having good judgement is becoming more important than having higher intelligence in this information — abundant world. You should know when and how to defer your opinions to other more knowledgeable people in specific areas.” from Tyler Cowen in The Knowledge Project podcast.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com