Re Human Day 58

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readNov 14, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Today I flew back from Brown to SF. Love both places.

Daily Habits

Books: I mostly finished the second half of Blitzcaling in physical book form. And continued listening to Platform Revolution. Some notes from today:

User commitment and active usage are the true indicators of customer adoption, not signups.

One strategy to get around the chicken and egg problem is to design to attract one side of users. OpenTable is a great example because they built tools for restaurants first. Bringing producers is usually better than consumers because they can do the marketing and find consumers.

Viral infections have: host, germs, medium, recipient.

Viral growth then needs: the sender, the spreadable value unit, the external network, the recipient.

Smart platform Monetizations consider all forms of value and choose the ones that inhibit growth less.

For Blitzcaling I underlined insightful things as I read it, and “my notes” for it are pictures of the pages that had good underlines. My plan is to pass those pictures to my Notion as my “notes” for Blitzcaling. I think this is an easy way to save important parts of physical books as “digital” notes.

Meditation: 10 minutes in the morning, 15 minutes in the plane.

Re Human Extended Activity: Tuesdays is Music Production.

Today I improved my “Create a Dream” song in the airplane. Getting to a good spot. My taste is actually happy with the song :).

Writing: This post and a daily thought about which 5 character traits I’d choose to embody — prompted by a question from my friend Paul.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Today I drew some rough perspective of what I saw from my seat in the airplane.

Fitness: Today I trained back in my building’s gym in SF. Practiced my handstands, human flag, pull-ups, jumping squats, biceps.

Piano: Today it felt so good to play in my electronic keyboard. Obviously not as grandiose as a real piano but it was nice to be able to just pull it out and start practicing without having to walk far and try to find an available piano. Thinking of at some point getting a smaller keyboard so I can take in anywhere I travel? Maybe.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I felt such a huge leap in progress! Was able to do two around the worlds without the ball falling in between a couple of times — before I had only been able to do this once per session.

Random Surprise

At Brown I held some “entrepreneur office hours”. A friend came to office hours and he asked a pretty good question I hadn’t heard before:

What is something you’d want to prove but can’t?

I think this question falls into the type of questions that make you pause and actually pulls out interesting answers from people.

Read the previous post.

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com