Re Human Day 67

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readNov 23, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: Today I read in the kindle app of my iPad. I started a book I often see highly recommended about writing: Bird by bird. Then I also started Metaphors we Live By.

Some notes from today:

Writing can give you what having a baby can give you: it can get you to start paying attention, can help you soften, can wake you up.

Good writing is about telling the truth. We are a species that needs and wants to understand who we are.

“writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can see only as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” You don’t have to see where you’re going, you don’t have to see your destination or everything you will pass along the way. You just have to see two or three feet ahead of you.

Our concepts structure what we perceive, how we get around in the world, and how we relate to other people. Our conceptual system thus plays a central role in defining our everyday realities. If we are right in suggesting that our conceptual system is largely metaphorical, then the way we think, what we experience, and what we do every day is very much a matter of metaphor.

Meditation: 20 minutes in the morning.

Re Human Extended Activity: Thursdays is Music Production.

Spent some time looking at some of my previous projects, then watching some videos on the Skillshare class about mixing, then finding sounds on Splice.

Writing: This post, code, and a daily thought.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Watched several videos (some of them were tutorials, some were just drawing processes), by Gal Shir (the guy who makes the videos of the drawing I’m trying to emulate). Also painted a bit on the drawing but not too much.

Fitness: Did Yoga with my girlfriend, abs, and handstands.

Piano: Practiced La La Land’s song with a real piano! I’m not sure if Flowkey has trouble recognizing the keys because the piano is out of tune (maybe) or because with my keyboard it automatically knows the notes because it’s connected to the computer. But it’s having some trouble recognizing the keys.

Soccer trick juggling: Practiced outside! Today I did 2 around the worlds without the ball falling in between.

Random Surprise

A short description about school lunches that I really liked, from the Bird by Bird book:

Here is the main thing I know about public school lunches: it only looked like a bunch of kids eating lunch. It was really about opening our insides in front of everyone. Just like writing is. It was a precursor of the showers in seventh- and eighth-grade gym, where everyone could see your everything or your lack of everything, and smell the inside smells of your body, and the whole time you just knew you were going to catch something. The contents of your lunch said whether or not you and your family were Okay. Some bag lunches, like some people, were Okay, and some weren’t. There was a code, a right and acceptable way. It was that simple.

Read the previous post.

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com