Re Human Day 71

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
4 min readNov 27, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Daily Habits

Books: I finished The 15 Commitments of Conscious Leadership. And started The War Against Normal People.

Some notes from today:

C4: speaking candidly. Candor: intersection of Truth, Openness, and Self Awareness. Speak with un-arguable thoughts, feelings, and sensations. “I’m having a thought that”, “ I feel [actual feeling]”

C5: eliminate gossip.

C6: practicing Integrity. Integrity facilitates the flow of energy.

C7: generating appreciation. Masterful appreciation: Sincere, unarguable, specific, succinct.

C8: excelling in your own genius.

C9: commitment of a life of play and rest.

C10: exploring the opposite.

C11: sourcing approval, control and security. From yourself. All human wants are just manifestations of these three core wants.

C12: mentality of having enough of everything.

C13: experiencing/ perceiving the world as an ally.

C14: creating win-for-all solutions.

C15: being the resolution. See what is needed in the world, and become the solution.

Human beings, not human doings.

Meditation: 20 minutes in the morning, and 20minutes in the afternoon.

I’ve been listening to the “lessons” in Sam Harris’ Waking Up app per my co-founder & friend Max, and he’s right, they’re great. So today for my afternoon meditation session, I tried the first “two days” of the actual meditation sessions in the app. I had just come out from taking a shower after exercising and decided to experiment with not putting on clothes before the meditation. So I meditated naked today.

Re Human Extended Activity: Mondays is VR Artist & Architect.

Edited the code to place more book copies in good positions across the hall:

Then I imported the “hall”’s .obj file in Blender and started trying to figure out how to edit it. I made the whole hall wider, making the center “hall” a square instead of a rectangle, and I also made the hallways longer.

Then exported the new file and put it in my code, but it scrambled everything and things were out of place:

Writing: This post, code, and a daily thought.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Today I spent over 30minutes reading “drawing from the right side of the brain”. I’m so impressed by how good the book is — and it’s about way more than about “drawing”. I highlighted and put some pictures in my instagram @re.human story.

Fitness: My legs are still super sore from Saturday’s Tabata training session, so I didn’t do my usual jumping bodyweight squat warmup. Instead I just focused on the human flag, handstands, abs, and some push ups.

I don’t know why, but the side that usually was harder for me in the human flag, has recently become easier than the previous “easy side”. Today I was able to hold the human flag for 7 seconds in this new-easy old-hard side!

Piano: Practiced La La Land’s song.

Soccer trick juggling: Today I practiced a bit but my legs were too sore and realized it would probably be a smarter idea to watch videos on juggling techniques (also since I had set that as a direction in yesterday’s weekly reflection). It was a great call. Learned a lot. Watched 3 videos from these guys’ youtube channel (it’s in Spanish). Learned different things than the previous youtube videos I had watched in English.

Random Surprise

What is the saddest sentence you can think of? I recently saw a quote that said:

“Of all sad words of mouth or pen, the saddest are these: it might have been.”

I agree it’s pretty sad. We regret way more things we didn’t do, than things we did. But those things didn’t even happen, so food for thought: why regret in the first place?

Read the next post. Read the previous post (a weekly recap!).

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com