Re Human Day 81

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves has always been the most important skill. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Today was one of those days where there were uncommon events in my day that made it much harder to do all the things. This weekend (starting today, which meant an hour and a half drive), I’m at a retreat by this amazing community called Interact, in the redwoods. The drive and interacting with amazing people definitely shifted my sleep schedule, but thought that’s totally fine and worth it. Right now I’m sitting in the main lodge /dining hall after trying to find wifi in 2 other cabins. Still found it! I feel like “streaks” are a strong motivator (publishing these posts every day) but I’m also aware that there’s some times that other things are more important in certain contexts and that there’s no need to not be flexible. But I kind of wanted to experiment with the feeling of “keeping the streak” and making time to find wifi and time to write this even though it’s almost 2am and everyone already went to bed and breakfast is at 8am. But the schedule tomorrow and throughout the week is extremely flexible so I’m definitely taking a big nap tomorrow :). Wrote a bit more about “streaks” in my daily thought too.

Daily Habits

Books: Been listening to The Seventh Sense. A note from today:

To be happy is to be free, to be free is to be brave.

Meditation: 10 minutes in the morning.

Re Human Extended Activity: Thursdays I am a Music Producer.

I looked and listened around a bit on the most recent project I made in Logic but very quickly decided to learn from other people instead. I thought looking at other people producing music would be a good idea, so I can see their process, learn how they think about things, and techniques. And I was sure Youtube would have that.

So I saw how this guy made a full song in 59minutes. And another guy making a song in 1 hour. Then a couple of videos from the first guy I linked’s channel, on things like “Ways to turn tiny ideas into full tracks”.

Writing: This post, code, and a daily thought.

Digital Drawing & Painting:

Read more of the third post on the how to draw from imagination series. Then I drew another one of the cute little humans:

Fitness: Today I trained biceps, human flag, handstands, back.

Piano: Practiced La La Land’s song.

Soccer trick juggling: Right foot’s big toe still hurts a but also just went for it today, with a little more focus on my left foot. Maximum was 2 “around the worlds” in a row.

Random Surprise

“little picture” (not even little but somehow evokes that feeling in me) I loved the moment I saw it.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

See stories on my @re.human instagram.

Receive a free weekly Present of the best content I’ve ever found, here 🎁.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com