Re Human Days 194 to 202 — Week 28

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
7 min readApr 11, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m re-inventing myself by improving in 15 areas every week.

This post is part of my Re Human project.

This was me 15mins into writing this post:

̶I̶ ̶t̶h̶o̶u̶g̶h̶t̶ ̶d̶o̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶a̶ ̶w̶e̶e̶k̶l̶y̶ ̶p̶o̶s̶t̶ ̶i̶n̶s̶t̶e̶a̶d̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶d̶a̶i̶l̶y̶ ̶p̶o̶s̶t̶s̶ ̶w̶a̶s̶ ̶a̶ ̶g̶o̶o̶d̶ ̶i̶d̶e̶a̶.̶ ̶B̶u̶t̶ ̶I̶ ̶t̶h̶i̶n̶k̶ ̶t̶o̶o̶ ̶m̶u̶c̶h̶ ̶a̶c̶c̶u̶m̶u̶l̶a̶t̶e̶s̶ ̶i̶n̶ ̶a̶ ̶w̶e̶e̶k̶ ̶t̶o̶ ̶t̶h̶e̶ ̶p̶o̶i̶n̶t̶ ̶o̶f̶ ̶b̶e̶c̶o̶m̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶o̶v̶e̶r̶w̶h̶e̶l̶m̶i̶n̶g̶

Then I continued writing. A day passed. Then continued.

I realized it was still cool because it showed the diversity of activities more than daily posts did. But definitely took longer than what I was used to with daily posts to roughly compile what I did. Probably because of compiling / remembering / thinking of the new format.

Books

This week I continued with Walt Disney’s biography (it’s almost 34 hours — so super long). Almost done, 30 more minutes. In the middle, I listened to The Three Questions, which was only like 4 hours. Some notes:

The three questions: who am I? what is real? what is love?

Mind Tools: Attention, Memory, Imagination

Quintessential product of Disney wasn’t fantasy, it was simulated reality. Robots in Disney world.

The park was Disney’s dream. Other things, like the Television shows were just subsidiaries for the park.

Walt wanted to build a city. City about Art.

Meditation

20 minutes in the morning, tried adding 10mins in the afternoon like two days.

Dancing

Morning Dance: clicked shuffle on Buxton Patio Vibes and danced songs in the morning.

Went to a live Hip Hop “Popping” class on Sunday. Everyone was super skilled. Seemed they had been going for a while because they knew each other.

I arrived a bit late, joined, and in a bit realized what was going on: each person was taking turns to “guide the class” for what moves to do — everyone else would mimic the moves. Soon it would be my turn. And it wasn’t just One move. It was like a FULL 30 SECONDS. I definitely didn’t feel prepared / didn’t feel like I knew many moves. But just went for it and it turned out fine.

Then the rest of the class we learned a choreography for a song.

Digital Drawing

Finished three video lessons on Keying the Drawing Part 2.

A quote I liked from the lessons: “drawing is an act of problem solving”.

Some progress pictures, and the actual picture:

Also watched a couple youtube videos about drawing, like this one:

crazy how he draws so much

Piano

Watched a couple videos about practicing:

I kept practicing I Giorni by Ludovico Einaudi — I’m getting it well now! Whole song is too long so happy with that beginning:

Writing

Mostly proud of this post. Also still did daily journaling (morning and night), Sunday personal weekly reflection, and some daily thoughts.

Also new type of writing I hadn’t done before: script-writing! For Notion video.

VR Artist and Architect

Started doing some modeling on Blender (had the idea to make a Rhino), but Blender froze a couple times.

So watched some videos by this new guy I discovered who does amazing modeling with Blender:

Music Production

Started a new project in Logic Pro X.

Sooo impressed by this one, he makes it look so easy:

super talented live demo, and cool to learn about history of music production
andrew is really good at making songs out of anything. also love his editing
more Logic Pro projects

The left one sounds like the most simple tribal drum beat, and then started playing around with piano chords.

The right one was trying to make beats out of pieces of a vocal, inspired by how Andrew Huang makes things out of any sound.

Influencer

Made and shared a video of how I use Notion to be more creative! This was huge for me. Took me a long long time. And decided to start a Youtube channel!

Shared on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn. Facebook right now is the “best platform” for me.

Had a lot of fun thinking about a thumbnail.

Main reason I think being an “Influencer” is cool: it’s a platform to live the life you want to live, passionately. Then you get flooded with opportunities, sponsorships, cool friends, more leverage, etc. to keep living that life.

Video Making

Learned about making videos. These are some of the videos I watched.

Found a cool youtube channel with copyright free music.

And signed up for a month free trial of Epidemic sound:

And Musicbed: https://www.musicbed.com/

Soccer trick juggling

Practiced around the world and hop the world. Improving towards doing two consecutive around the worlds.

On Friday I broke my record for “most around the worlds in a row without the ball falling in between”. I got 7!!

Still not being able to get consecutive around the worlds consistently at all.

Topics Deep Dives

As always, learned in the surface about many different things on the internet.

What could be a “Topics Deep Dive” was a deep dive I took into into meditation techniques and Enlightenment-related topics. Mostly links from this compilation. Too much info to write here. Some of the stuff made it into my 🌳 Meditation Knowledge Tree.

Different & Positive Social Interactions

Sent a nice newsletter. Chatted with a bunch of friends who messaged me about the Notion video I made. Met up with friends at the back of a Thai restaurant.

Starting a Startup

coded a lot, designed a lot, wrote a lot, thought a lot. This is where I spend the grand majority of my time.

Putting together curriculums for the courses with the influencers we’re partnering, so a lot of learning/synthesizing/writing. Integrated https://getstream.io for a social-network-type feed for seeing activity of the students’ learning peer groups and a notification feed. Re-designed how the classroom experience looks. Started integrating a video-recording feature.

Graphic Design

Designed a lot of screens/iterations for startup:

The picture below shows two big breakthroughs: creating a navigation container with the main components, in a way that doesn’t take too much space and still fits the title and basic info.

And another big design problem we had was creating feed cards where the image of work is big enough but still not taking too much vertical space. The trick/insight/breakthrough was putting the title and comments/likes on the right side. I learned that design is mostly about problem solving too. It’s about coming up with new paradigms for doing things — or copying / identifying what would be a good paradigm. Super cool and fun.

Fitness

A couple of days I exercised outside!

Also tried human flags on some trees, and I could make it happen!

One uncommon thing added to my workout routine: on Friday I ran 3 miles with my friends Cliff and Naryan, at 10pm.

Last week I got 46 chin ups in one minute.

Yesterday I got 52 chin ups in one minute.

The world record is 57 chin ups in one minute. I probably still need to work on some form, but it feels close!

This was a new format. What did you think? Comments, suggestions, ideas welcome.

I’m thinking talking on a camera (as a vlog) could be a cool way to go through all this info. For some reason I think it could be faster, but I also feel that could be completely the reverse. But would be harder for people to click links. Are those even important? Or is a better learning/story experience better?

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com