Re Human — Week 11 Reflections — Day 77

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
4 min readDec 3, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves is the most important skill nowadays. I’m reinventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Pollock, by Alain Laboile, 2016

Today (Sunday) I decided to experiment with not doing some of the areas.

Re Human is about constantly re-thinking things. Which sometimes means doing things differently and experimenting, even changing changing things you assume are already “good”. Since I started this challenge, I somehow managed to do the things I set out to do — mainly because I didn’t set any goals and have only focused on things that are within my control. Still required lots of discipline but this process of making this my new “identity” and writing process posts every day have been crucial to stick with my habits. But I know that rest, re-freshing, taking breaks are incredibly useful, so today I wanted to explicitly not do all the areas for the day.

I found that setting “directions” in my last week’s weekly recap was pretty useful. Some areas where I felt the impact of writing down the directions:

  • in books, I read a bit more in kindle and physical form than usual.
  • in writing, I made sure that I worked on longer-form posts.
  • in soccer trick juggling, I made sure I watched a video on techniques — actually ended up watching 3 videos that were pretty useful.
  • in different and positive social interaction systems, I made sure I ask some people what they like most about my newsletter/medium posts.
  • in media influencer, I made sure to capture and post way more than I usually do.
  • in music production, I made sure to work on new projects and iterations.

Those are some of the most interesting, valuable highlights that came from writing down the directions.

For the other areas I didn’t feel a huge benefit from writing the directions down or I just didn’t [follow / stick to / remember / were committed enough / prioritize] the directions.

A habit/ritual I’ve been doing since the July 29, 2018 is the following:

  • When paying attention to things (which hopefully means all the time), try to ask myself “could this be breakthrough knowledge?” What I mean by breakthrough is something that changes how you act, think, or experience. Having this filter has been useful to help decide whether I want to read a book, an article, take a meeting, etc. It’s also useful for seeking opposing perspectives of my current mental model of the world and trying to see in which contexts a perspective might be better.
  • If I remember, write down this breakthrough knowledge in a specific “Breakthrough Knowledge Uncovered” page in my Notion.
  • When doing my night journal, I have a prompt: one thing I learned today: And right below that prompt I have “is it breakthrough knowledge?” with a link to my breakthrough knowledge page. I write accordingly.
  • When doing my personal weekly reflections, I take a look at this week’s breakthrough knowledges and try to come up with ideas of how to apply them.

This ritual has been a breakthrough knowledge for me.

Below are the breakthrough knowledges I “uncovered” this week. Some of them might sound obvious, but that’s the whole paradox of clichés: people think they’re boring because they’ve heard them many times, but the fact that so many people say them means they’re pointing towards an important truth. Several of them I already “knew” but I just internalized them more this week.

This Week’s Breakthrough Knowledge

  • You can accept something and still work to change it. In fact, to successfully change something in your life, you may need to accept it first…
  • Luck affects outcomes but it doesn’t affect effort.
  • Start acting like every idea you come across or come up with has the potential for brilliance, and that potential is more likely to be realized.
  • The 15 Commitments of Conscious Leadership
  • All human wants are just manifestations of these three core wants: approval, control (I personally think this could be better phrased as freedom) and security/safety/survival.
  • Speak unarguably. Speak by revealing what is true for you. Unarguable things: thoughts, feelings, sensations. Also make your appreciations unarguable.
  • Use Communication protocols, matching bandwidth of medium with significance of message.
  • Emotion: e-motion: energy in motion.
  • The team that sees reality more clearly wins. Speaking candidly (intersection of truth, openness, and self awareness) helps the team see reality more clearly.
  • Integrity facilitates the flow of energy.
  • Access all 3 centers of intelligence: head, heart, gut.

What did you think of this week’s weekly reflection format? Should I start posting my breakthrough knowledge uncovered each week? I can’t be sure if this is useful and enjoyable to you or not if you don’t tell me. One of the biggest reasons for me to publish these posts publicly is to be helpful to other people (otherwise I could write things just for myself) — so I would love to know what you’ve found juicy, so I can double down on that.

More detailed thoughts, tips, and takeaways about each area, organized by day and week in my Re Human publication.

Read the next post. Read the previous day’s post.

Receive a free weekly Present of the highest quality things I’ve ever found (not only throughout the week) here 🎁.

Enjoy stories on my my instagram (@re.human).

Thank You :).

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com