Re Human — Week 9 Reflections — Day 63

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
2 min readNov 19, 2018

Re-inventing ourselves is the most important skill. I’m reinventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time. This post is part of my Re Human project.

Gestalt concept present in drawing of a tree and animals

Grateful I was able to do all my re human activities this week.

Today I want to reflect on 2 things I’ve found fundamental during my Re Human project.

Reflections

A reflection started the project.

Daily reflections generate a big part of my daily motivation. I know that at the end of the day, I’m going to write a reflection on what I did that day.

So I act, so I can write, because if I didn’t act, I wouldn’t be able to reflect.

Weekly reflections refine my direction. The same is true with monthly reflections and yearly reflections (haven’t had one while doing Re Human yet but it will happen). The more encompassing the time-horizon, the grander the reflection.

Rituals

Reflections usually generate rituals.

By ritual I mean a pre-thought activity. Habits, time set aside for reflections, or any activity that was pre-defined earlier.

Rituals help make sure I act on what I determined I want to be acting on, based on a reflection.

“Reflections and Rituals” sound harmless. They are harmless, but they’re violently powerful.

Reflecting can help you uncover an idea that is as easy to do as looking at these words, yet as life-changing as realizing that a little bit of slope makes up for a lot of y-intercept.

Rituals can then act as a road you defined. The road supports you and tells you where you should be heading.

And the loop repeats. Ritual actions lead you back to reflections.

Of course this isn’t a complete model for how to act or live, these are simply two ingredients I’ve found powerful.

Today I spent a bit more time editing my writing and being more careful about my phrasing. Did you notice it?

More detailed thoughts, tips, and takeaways about each area, organized by day in my Re Human publication.

Read the next day’s post. Read the previous day’s post.

Receive a free weekly Present of the highest quality things I’ve ever found (not only throughout the week) here 🎁.

Enjoy stories on my my instagram (@re.human).

Thank You :).

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com