DESIGN INTERNSHIP EXPERIENCE AT REPORT BEE

Nares
reportbee

--

I’m going to share my internship experience at Report Bee(RB). Before that I’ll tell about myself and how I joined at Report Bee. I’m Nares from Coimbatore. I completed my UG degree on April 2017. I had job offers from two companies and was waiting for my call letter. After four months I still didn’t get my call letter and it was so frustrating. I was attending Kovai Madrasters meetup where I met Siddarth and asked him for an opportunity to learn design.

He suggested me to do an internship at Report Bee. So I contacted Jack (Design head at RB) and joined RB design team on August 21.

My internship was all about

  1. WORK
  2. FUN
  3. MEET
  4. SPORTS

WORK

LEARNING TOOLS AND TRACING

The first thing I learned was how to use the pen tool and do tracing work. It was little difficult for me to learn pen tool but after lots of practice it became easy for me. After Photoshop I learned Illustrator and also After Effects.

I traced a picture in Illustrator which is shown below.

LOGO DESIGN

After the tracing work I learned about logo designing. I have already posted a separate blog on “How I Designed My First Logo”. You can check that blog here. It took a month for me but I learned a lot from it. One awesome experience it was.

DRIBBBLE INVITE

As a fresh designer getting the Dribbble invite is a very tough one. So how I got my Dribbble invite ?

In Dribbble if you search for the keyword “Invite”, you can find professional designers giving free invites for new designers. But the only thing is you have to send your best works to them. So they will select the best one from the submissions they got and will give you invite.

I got my Dribbble invite by sending the logo and also I shared my blog with them, where they can see my thought process efforts.

MINIMALIST POSTER

I got a task where I had to design a minimalist poster for my favorite movie. Ayan was my favorite kollywood movie, so I designed a poster for that.

I took a lot of time to design it. As a result it became my favorite design . I experimented more with colors and learned a lot on how to use the right colors to make a design look great.

STICKER DESIGN

I was assigned a task to design a sticker representing the future of Report Bee. I tried different concepts. Finally I came up with a result which is shown below.

The main idea behind the sticker was to show Data is the Future.

FUN

THEME THURSDAY (TT)

Apart from the learning thing there was a fun part called Theme Thursday. In our Design Team we follow certain theme on every Thursday. Every week one person leads the TT, takes a pic in there own concept and uploads it on their fb account. You can search these pictures with the hastag #ThemeThursday on fb.

I learned After Effects to do a intro for my TT gif. It is shown below.

I learned to make text animation and how to take gif as output.

DIWALI CELEBRATION

It was Diwali time so the whole RB team went to beach resort to celebrate. So much fun it was. I got to know about other team members. A good interaction happened in that celebration.

TEAM OUTING

We the whole team went to soap football for our teammate Sathish Kumar Jain’s farewell and enjoyed a lot. We made that day a memorable one for him.

He is an Engineering graduate turned designer. You can also read his blog on “How he became a designer” here.

MEET

FRESH AIR MEET — FAM

FAM is nothing but a monthly meet where we discuss about our works and experiences every month.

There is a separate blog for FAM which explains more about it. You can check out the blog here.

Presentation

Every month one person gets chance to take a presentation in FAM. So it was my turn and I made a presentation about Networking. I designed my own template for my presentation.

Finally we took a selfie and ended the FAM meet.

MADRASTERS MEETUP

Madraster is a Chennai based Design community, they conducted their 7th meetup on UX Design. It was a good experience for me where I learned lot of new things. The meetup was about Internet of things and UX Design. Few of my team members were in the core team of Madrasters, so I was able to see how all the arrangements were made for the meetup.

Our team member Anantha Natarajan was updating the live status of the event in social media. He shared his experience in his blog you can check it here.

SPORTS

BADMINTON TOURNAMENT

In RB they conduct Carrom and Badminton match every year. I teamed up with Nandhu and we participated in Badminton doubles.

We were the semi-finalists. It was an unforgettable experience for me because we started practicing with other RB team members in the evening time, only a week before the tournament.

MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE

I explored and learned many things in this four months of internship at RB. For four months I have lived in a new city (Chennai) and met lots of new people. Really had a good time here.

Now I’m going to join Infosys and explore new things. I hope it will be a nice experience too.

Thank You :)

--

--