FRIENDSHIP

Friday Night At the Rock Show

Na-na, na-na, na-na, na-na, na, na

Agnes
RESONATES

--

Digital illustration of a girl taking a selfie
Artwork by author (Agnes). Find more illustrations on my Instagram!

I wish we were still talking so I could tell you I finally got to see them live. To say: I saw your favorite band! Or your then-favorite-band, I have no idea what you listen to now. Still, I have a feeling that if I told you about it, you’d be impressed. That it’d make you smile to learn that I went with a friend, and that we danced, and danced, and wished the night would never end.

Late night, come home, work sucks, I know. In an act of rebelliousness that didn’t feel mine, I flipped off the calendar and bought the ticket for that same night — an impulse, a whim, an adult giving reins to the inner-teen. I never wanna act my age, what’s my age again? What’s my age again? I suffered traffic and trudged through mud, but when they came up on stage, the world fell away.

I felt thirteen again. If I closed my eyes, I could see you mimic-playing along to Tom DeLonge’s guitar, mouthing the words, just like I was.

Memories triggered by the melodies mixing with memories in the making. I was thirteen and thirty, at a foreign high-school and a hometown festival, in my memories and in the very real mud. I was hearing you sing and singing loudly and off-key.

The last song they played was a new one. We never listened to it on my iPod on our hallway strolls, we never talked about the lyrics, I never heard you practice the chords. It’s their story, it’s emo and heavy, but it’s also about living in the now: I don’t wanna act like there’s tomorrow. Like a message from the universe to get back to the present. I guess this is growing up.

It’s stupid to wish you’d been there, we don’t talk anymore and haven’t for a long time. Still, I wished I had some way to get in touch. As we were leaving, I really wanted to tell you that I finally got to see them live. I had so much fun and, in a weird way, I think I can partly thank you for that. You weren’t the friend texting me that they were in town, you didn’t pay for the tickets, and we didn’t stand together in line, but they are a band I loved because you loved them. I learned their lyrics from listening to them together and discussing them on late-night msn chats. I can’t write to you, but I can write.

So thank you; I spent Friday night at the rock show, and had the best time.

This article is solely for informational purposes and represents the writer’s personal opinion. Please seek professional advice if required.

Find your stage on RESONATES. Touch hearts, inspire minds and find comfort that you are not alone. Write with us. Read the submission guidelines here.

--

--

Agnes
RESONATES

Slow runner, fast walker. I have dreamed in different languages. I read a lot. Yes, my curls are real.