Fifty Shades Of Giulia

The name Alfa Romeo is very much linked to bright red sports cars. Yet, over the years, Alfa has offered many excellent alternatives to the classic “Rosso Alfa,” so I’ve decided to pick 50 of my favorite shades and put together a sort of post-war history of Alfa Romeo cars through their colors.

Matteo Licata
Roadster Life

--

Matteo Licata Alfa Romeo
Image modified by the Author

Why? Because I’ve always had a weird fascination with car colors, their names, and codes… I’m a nerd, I know.

Nowadays, this early Giulietta saloon with its candy-like pinkish color is a favorite among visitors to Alfa Romeo’s museum. Still, this shade, called “Rosso Corallo,” wasn’t popular with buyers at all in the period. That shouldn’t come as a surprise, though, as these Alfas were, to all intents and purposes, family cars, and relatively expensive ones at that.

1955 Alfa Giulietta
The 1955 Giulietta in Alfa Romeo’s museum (picture from the Author)

Therefore, buyers tended to prefer more subdued colors like “Azzurro Acqua di Fonte,” which means “spring water blue,” or the classic “Biancospino” white, which owes its name to the common hawthorn’s flowers. White remained a favorite for…

--

--

Matteo Licata
Roadster Life

I’ve been obsessed with cars for as long as I remember and, after working in automobile design for a decade, now I’m a lecturer, a published author, a YouTuber