Initial Thoughts on #ILookLikeAnEngineer

Tod Hilton
Rough Words
Published in
1 min readAug 7, 2015

--

If you haven’t already, you should read Isis Anchalee’s article, You May Have Seen My Face on BART. It’s a well written response to criticism and notoriety she’s received from participating in her employers recruiting ad campaign.

Her response is fucking awesome!

I have a lot of thoughts bumping around in my head about this situation and issue. If I can get them into a semblance of order and explain them clearly, then I’ll add them here at a later date. Until then, I wish Isis the best with her new found notoriety and unintended campaign to make the work environment better for women (and have no doubt, that will benefit everyone else in the process).

I’ll leave you with at least this thought; I strongly believe it’s our diversity that makes life interesting and opens up opportunities to grow. Without that diversity in the world (and workplace), new ideas stagnate and only a fraction of the people benefit.

Meanwhile, go read some of the responses on Twitter.

~tod

P.S.: If you liked this story, please hit the Recommend button below or share it. Thanks!

--

--