Webcomic Production Continues

Cory Roberts
Samurai Cory Draws Stuff
3 min readMay 19, 2024

A lot of time has passed since I posted something here on Medium, such as updating the character sheets for my upcoming webcomic series last week as I returned to making art in late April. Last year when I bought an XP-PEN Artist 24 Pro in November 2022, my dad’s demands of holding the ladder were very high in early March for three weeks, which led to the upcoming series going into development hell for one year. Several therapists called him out to stop mishandling both his sons (I have my own company — which is artwork and manga, and my dad has his own — which is painting residential and commercial buildings) and I am not capable of holding the ladder because most of my time is needed to draw things and work on the upcoming webcomic series, which has yet to have a permanent name. I did not attend the closure of the 3DS and the Wii U eShop and the 20th anniversary of Lynne Thigpen’s passing last year. I also had to watch my new niece since I didn’t have the time to go back to drawing stuff either.

Speaking of which, I have a Bluesky account! It’s much more art-focused, and sometimes I buy something new such as clothing or video games. Recently, Medium, the very blogging platform that powers this webcomic production blog, has been filled with cryptobros and AI bros, most of which people can’t stand and are exploring ways of leaving Medium for Substack, Ghost, and WordPress. I got spammy cryptobros and AI bros following me on Medium as I have to report them. No one is taking any interest in AI because it is considered a nightmare as the therapists are facing a massive catalog of long lines.

My current setup

I also got a standing desk for Christmas to replace the behemoth glass desk, and my five-year-old iMac 27 (2017 model) is still alive and kicking. However, I have no plans of moving to Linux or going back to Windows and I probably have to upgrade to a Mac Studio and get an ultra-wide monitor. This week the upcoming webcomic is now entering the antagonist stage, where the bad guys will be part of the story, as it is about three brave teenage Kyokushin karateka going against a crime syndicate that is attempting to correct it by destroying the world themselves after there was an error preventing the apocalypse. The upcoming portfolio and webcomic will be treated as separate sites instead of merging them.

I also have other things to deal with:

  • The top 20 “go to” typefaces on my list have been updated (though the list will still be here on Medium)
  • The top 20 favorite fictional characters will be rewritten when I have the time

I also upgraded from Clip Studio Paint 2.0 to Clip Studio Paint 3.0, too. You can use the “chromatic aberration” effect on your artwork to look like it was made in the 1990s/early 2000s and also curve your text, which can be used on the automobile’s or motorbike’s dashboard, such as the Ford Mustang. Making artwork and manga (comics) takes time, as I don’t need to find jobs since I have my own business and they need to know that. They need to know that anyone can make art and manga (comics) full-time instead of part-time since everything was shuttered between 2020 and 2022 due to COVID-19.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you rejoin me on this adventure as we can get it out this spring/summer of this year rather than last year.

--

--

Cory Roberts
Samurai Cory Draws Stuff

American digital illustrator and manga artist who draws Y2K clothing and big sneakers. Now working on personal and freelance projects.