Google Summer of Code: OpenMF Week 1

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readJun 14, 2021
Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab: Week 1

Hi there! I am back again with another blog on Google Summer of Code. In this blog, I share my work in the Community Bonding period and week first of my Google Summer of Code with SCoRe Lab Organization.

In my community bonding period, I came to know from my mentor that the organization is expecting something different or you can say some more work that I need to cover in my GSoC coding period and I need to modify my proposal according to that.

So my major work is to add a new extraction method to extract some other data from Android devices which are not available currently in our project and create Analytics Engine and Analytics API with implementation on the OpenMF frontend. For this, I did some exhaustive research on the currently available analytics tools, boil down all the key features, and learned some of their respective implementations.

After lots of Google meets, discussions and feedback from my mentor I jot down my project milestones and updated my timeline.

In case if you want to see the proposal here is a link 🤗

In my first week, I set up everything and generated some dummy data which is important in the coming work period. Also, I worked on the extraction part to extract text messages (SMS) from android devices and Implementation from the Postman and CMD so that we can directly extract SMS through dedicated command. To make this useful on the frontend and analysis, I also created an API that will provide a data path for SMS of the desired case stored in the database.

Extraction of text messages using CMD
Extracted text messages(SMS)

In the coming week, I will be working on some other data extraction part and will update my lovely readers about the same. Till then if you haven't read my previous blog here is a link for that. See you soon!!😊

Github: swapnalshahil 👈

LinkedIn: swapnalshahil 🤘

--

--

Swapnal Shahil
SCoRe Lab

GSoC’22 Mentor || GSoC’21 @SCoReLab || B.Tech at IIT Guwahati'23