Journey into GSoC — Part 2

Omal Vindula
SCoRe Lab
Published in
2 min readMay 27, 2020

Two weeks in and I’m slowly getting the hang of everything opensource.

Week #2 was more about polishing my knowledge, learning new stuff which was fun and interesting. I was also able to finish off the tutorial series on flutter which I mentioned in my previous article. It proved to be very helpful and informative as expected!

Once I was feeling confident on flutter, I turned my attention to flask since I would need it to build my backend and without it, my flutter app would be useless! I was going through official documentation of flask which seems to be oddly clear and concise. I’m yet to find a good tutorial for flask which I will let you all know when I do. Planning the app was something that I did during this week. Where I thought about the screens it requires as well as its file structure.

Open source is all about transparency. So, when I was discussing with my mentor, they suggested me to come up with a task list for my milestone which others can track, which you also can track, from here. Another suggestion was to come up with an ER diagram as I’m using an SQL database for this project. So, once I’m done writing this article, that’s the next thing I’m gonna do. Hopefully, I’ll have a nice ER diagram for me to work with by the next article. Until then, stay safe and cheers!

--

--