WRITERS’ GATHERING RECAP

Postcards From Anywhere

Prose poetry prompt

Samantha Lazar
Scrittura
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2023

--

Photo by rc.xyz NFT gallery on Unsplash

Last night’s Scrittura Writers’ Gathering was sweet. Thank you for joining Connie Song, Vinitha Dileep, Wry Welwood, Mary L. Holden, Pablo Pereyra, and Audrey Howitt! I hope more writers will join the next one! We discussed experimental forms of poetry, both in form and in process. We talked about the differences between poems and prose poems.

Marilyn J Wolf’s helpful article narrows the definition even further, especially when referring to prose poetry in Scrittura.

Then Mary L. Holden had an awesome idea for our writing time. We all wrote a postcard poem: A prose poem that could fit on a postcard with the bonus feature: a sense of urgency. Below is what I came up with. I encourage everyone to try one.

Photo by Jacob Vizek on Unsplash

My Dearest Brother,
Greetings from Alaska!
Yesterday was a beautiful day hiking.
Except when I tripped over a root
And fell face-first into the river.
I was reminded of fly-fishing with you
and Dad! What a disaster that was!
I’ve had a few bear sightings.
There’s one or two grumbling and
rummaging around my camp right
now. I can hear sniffing around my tent…

--

--

Samantha Lazar
Scrittura

Poetry, fiction, and essays in celebration of being a lover of life. https://linktr.ee/lazarsamantha