Hello Stranger

Or a reply to an old friend

Ameaka
Self-ish
1 min readJul 4, 2020

--

Hello Love,
Yes it's me Fatima.
I got your beautiful note,
And the even more charming messenger
You sent on to me.
I have to admit, it made me cry.

But I wonder,
Have I ever known you?
You say we’ve met before
But would I even recognize you?
Or did I lose you in all the trappings of
Lust and attraction and all those ephemeral feelings
which I was so quick to let go of?

I miss you, I miss you, I miss you.
Perhaps I had you once and lost you
Or maybe you are a just familiar stranger
That I’ve only ever met in dreams

I still look at the remains of my story,
The words I hung up like paintings,
The tears I kept from falling
And I know, someday you’ll come to me
When I’m ready to learn,
to be easy, to take things simply.

Till then, I’ll keep my heart open
On its propped up doors.
Yours sincerely.

This poem was written in response to Sakeenah_T’s poem ‘Love Says’.

pixababy

--

--

Ameaka
Self-ish

Word Addict/ Smart Mouth/Little Crazy&Maladroit. Poet, Writer, and Pharmacist.