How I Landed a $35,000 Contract On Sensay — #AwesomeHumans

Sensay
Sensay
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2016

One conversation can lead to great things.

Here at Sensay, we take immense pride in the strength of our community and the wide range of skill sets and knowledge that our users share with one another.

There are now over 1 Million users currently on Sensay helping one another with various needs, ranging from fashion & relationship advice, to finding developers & advisors for their startup companies.

In order to show our appreciation, we’re shining the spotlight on some of our most outstanding community members, via a weekly blog series called #AwesomeHumans.

Each week, we’ll be lifting the mask (Sensays are typically anonymous) and featuring a community member who exemplifies our core values of mentorship, knowledge sharing and all-around helpfulness.

This week’s debut of #AwesomeHumans features Sri Pulakanam, Head of Technology at Neurlabs. Meet Sri:

Sri Pulakanam

Sri, what do you KNOW on Sensay?

India, Startups, App Development, Web Development, Open Source, APIs, Creating business solutions, VR, Virtual Reality, AR, Augmented Reality

Where are you from? Where do you live and work now?

I was born and raised in India. When it came time for grad school, I decided to study Computer Science at Midwestern State University in Dallas, Texas.

For the past 10 years I’ve lived and worked in Santa Monica, CA. I worked with various startup companies until finding my current position as Head of Technology for NeurLabs.

What’s Neurlabs? What’s the mission?

Neurlabs is a technology agency at the forefront of Silicon Beach innovation with focus on with mobile apps, VR, AR & IoT. Born and bred in Santa Monica, the company has grown with the community and will always support and foster innovation within it.

Who are you most passionate about helping?

I’m most passionate about helping entrepreneurs, people with startup ideas, anyone needing technology advice and people looking for technical co-founders.

In my role as Head of Technology, and as a Sensay, I love helping people understand how to hone their idea into an MVP (Minimum Viable Product) and helping them to understand what technologies are available to solve their problem easily.

Describe your favorite experience using Sensay so far.

Two examples come to mind:

One time I responded to a NEED request — they were non-technical and needed advice on finding a technical co-founder. I explained to him some good ways to find a co-founder and by the end of the conversation he was feeling much more confident. I felt great because I was able to help him out!

The second example worked out well for me. I responded to a NEED request for an app developer. Long story short, I answered a few questions, exchanged contact information and eventually landed a 3-month, $35,000 development project for Neurlabs!

What excites you most about being a part of the Sensay community?

I love being a Sensay and helping founders with their questions about technology. Although opportunities for personal gain are exciting, I find it most rewarding to share my knowledge and experience so that others can benefit.

If a conversation turns into a client, great! But I’m really here for everyone else. It feels good to give.

What might someone be surprised to know about you?

1. I built a beacon app for Silicon Beach Fest to aid with the networking process. Everyone had a bluetooth beacon in their pocket and when they got close to one another, they had the option to exchange contact information!

2. I’m working with the New England Patriots on an audience engagement platform with location services (that’s all I can say for now).

Where can we connect to you and Neurlabs?

Sri
Twitter:
@neursri
Email: sri@neurlabs.com

Neurlabs
Website:
neurlabs.com
Twitter:
@neurlabs
Facebook:
facebook.com/neurlab

#AwesomeHumans

We’ll be spotlighting a new Sensay community member every week. If you’re a Sensay and would like to be featured in the next edition of #AwesomeHumans, fill out this quick questionnaire: bit.ly/AwesomeHumansApplication

Justin Ezor, Community Sensay

--

--

Sensay
Sensay
Editor for

one contact with the experience of millions of humans