Healthy Employment

I Wish I Had Gone Self-Employed 42 Years Ago for Three Reasons.

Until recently, I didn’t know self-employment could be extra beneficial for health and well-being.

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA
Published in
10 min readJun 6, 2022

--

Photo by emre keshavarz from Pexels

A Profound Perspective on Lifespan

Determined by genes, human life is limited. The known oldest person is believed to live 122 years. The average life expectancy for the 21st century is under 80 years.

Considering these statistics, I feel as if I have wasted more than half of my adult life working for the sake of survival in the corporate world.

Despite the many benefits gained from working for large business organizations, I began to regret my time there, as I felt like I had wasted my skills, time, and efforts.

For example, I earned money to pay bills and save a little for retirement. However, considering the traded time and tremendous effort I positioned, the value looks negligible.

Even though money is critical to survival, it is not enough for health, well-being, and life satisfaction.

Maslow’s hierarchy of human needs indicates that happiness is not solely determined by financial…

--

--

Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main)
EUPHORIA

Scientist, Technologist, Inventor, focusing on HEALTH and JOY. Founder of ILLUMINATION, curating key messages for society. Connection: https://digitalmehmet.com