A conversation about toxic monogamy culture | Part two

No One Can Be Everything for Anyone — And That’s Ok!

Accepting this liberating notion does not imply the necessity to be polyamorous

Ena Dahl
Sensual: An Erotic Life
8 min readNov 4, 2021

--

Zoe via Unsplash (cropped by author)

Yesterday, I posted part one of my reflections on a conversation I had with a friend’s husband who called me out as a hypocrite for challenging toxic monogamy culture on social media.

To recap, the man was of the opinion that I shouldn’t be allowed to promote polyamory since I have a child from a monogamous marriage. He insisted my way of life is damaging for young people and society in general.

Despite stating that my intention is not to preach polyamory, but rather to call out certain toxic beliefs perpetuated in our culture, he persisted. What it came down to was that the few times he’d heard me say that, “no one person can cover all of our needs and vice versa” or that “we can’t be everything for someone”, I was “directly implying the necessity to be polyamorous”.

I assured him that this was not what I mean when I say this, to which he requested that I dissect this sentence to help him understand. So here we go:

I was raised with the far too common belief that I’d grow up, meet my prince charming, and…

--

--

Ena Dahl
Sensual: An Erotic Life

Multidisciplinary creatrix; conscious kink & sensuality coach, educator, author, energy worker & rope (s)witch.