The Best Way To Learn SEO Is by Starting Your Own Website.

Jay Clair
SEO Manifesto
Published in
12 min readMar 14, 2022

--

I love search engine optimisation (SEO) and I know I am good at it.

Having created over 1 million monthly organic traffic to site, across the websites I have worked with over the last decade. I can say I know a thing or two about SEO.

It’s rather ironic that as an SEO I know that the number of people wanting to learn SEO is a lot. In fact, it's around three hundred thousand people searching how to SEO around the world in all its 10,000 plus variations.

There is only one true way of learning SEO yourself. That is simply by starting your own website.

Of course, understanding SEO best practices and creating content that ranks is probably just as important. BUT!! You need somewhere to practice.

How do you start your own website?

There are plenty of ways that you can get started on your own website.

For the most flexibility and control. You can choose to be self-hosted and launch a WordPress CMS website.

For an easier option. You can use website builder tools like Squarespace or Wix.

The easiest option is to use a platform like Medium to start publishing articles and seeing how well they perform. Although technically this is now starting your own website BUT you can do most of the things you need to do to learn SEO on Medium. In fact, it can be a little easier to rank, which I’ll touch on…

--

--

Jay Clair
SEO Manifesto

Head of Marketing at Bluesfest. SEO Nerd & Writer. About Me: Contrarian, rational optimist, curiosity is king.