FAST Agile and Scrum: where do they operate in the complex domain?

A deep dive into complexity

Willem-Jan Ageling
Serious Scrum

--

FAST Agile and Scrum both exist to operate in the Complex domain. That said, the creators of FAST Agile claim Scrum is not suited for this. This claim is interesting and the creators of Scrum obviously don’t agree.

In my previous article, I also discussed FAST Agile and Scrum. I compared many aspects of the frameworks. But I only could scratch the surface of the topic complexity.

Now I will take a deep dive into the complexity and argue why both frameworks sit in the Compex domain. The Complex domain is broad. And the border areas of Complex with Complicated and Chaotic aren’t clear-cut.

I think this is important. The claims a contradictory and confusing, potentially leading to misunderstanding and misapplication. So it requires clarification.

Cynefin

There are several ways to depict and identify types of domains. The two most famous are the Stacey Matrix and the Cynefin framework. I decided to use Cynefin for this discussion as that model is used by FAST Agile.

Cynefin helps people understand which domain they operate in to know how to respond to challenges. The framework knows 4 domains:

--

--

Willem-Jan Ageling
Serious Scrum

https://ageling.substack.com Writer, editor, founder of Serious Scrum. I love writing about maximizing value.