POETRY

Chant for Death Chant for life

Free Verse Poetry

James G Brennan
Share The Love
Published in
1 min readJul 19, 2020

--

Photo by Jay Castor on Unsplash

In the home Monks are chanting,
Closed environment
Words reverberate
No escape.
Words of Sanskrit mingles
With incense to penetrate
My subconscious mind
Taking me to a place unfamiliar.

Lotus position for those
Supple of body,
No easy task on stiffened legs,
Hard upon stone-like ankles.

Monks cast water blessings,
Circle touching, lightly,
Responsive chanting.

Humble the moment
Humble the experience.

Prayers in offering
A day of respect,
Time to give gladly
Honouring those who
Have gone before us.

Celebration, cremation,
To the universe returned.
Maybe to come back
As holy lotus flowers.

Thank you for reading. J.

It is by will alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the desire to write
that thoughts acquire speed, the mind acquires words,
words become Poetry. It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.
Frank Herbert and Me.

--

--

James G Brennan
Share The Love

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.