Fiction

What I’ve been doing in Isolation

Connie Song
Share The Love
Published in
2 min readDec 27, 2020

--

Connie’s Writer’s Log: Coping with December Doldrums 2020 and Benedict Cumberbatch

Standard Licensing iStock Image

My head wanders in isolation. Yes, there’s been enough rations, nutrients and junk food to sustain my body. My mind and soul are another thing. I make sure I read and write daily, just to keep my brain engaged. I journal to keep my thoughts relevant and create a timeline. However, this has been like a mad scientist’s experiment, gone bad.

But now I’m feeling a little depleted. Perhaps basic. Maybe with a touch of onset depression. This particular morning I fight it. Give me twenty jumping jacks and binge watch some Emily in Paris* for inspiration, I tell myself. Let your fantasies about Chef Gabriel unwind and wash over your body, as you imagine using the showerhead in his Parisian salle de bain.

I pen a poem about random, unrelated thoughts inspired by social media, boredom and the weather:

Monolithic winds blow remnants of the stars,

I pick them up one by one and burn my fingers with touches of eternity,
Nothing can describe the intensity of feeling,
All at once, I am sailing, I am floating,
Tasting Paris, Central Park and Rome,
Cumberbatched, pressed and pitted, lost in a galaxy of light.

I wonder about the title for the piece, but end up crumpling the draft in my inbox. Miraculously I retrieve it from the recycle bin. Maybe one day I will resuscitate myself, but for now the words need to rest.

Breakfast awaits.

© Connie Song 2020. All Rights Reserved.

  • Cumberbatched: definition, urban dictionary: The state of being in awe of actor Benedict Cumberbatch for his many roles( including Sherlock Holmes), his voice, charisma, looks, humility and humor. Link to Why Fans Love Benedict Cumberbatch video on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghRj28Uj3r0

*Writer’s Gratitude Notes: Inspired by an incredible Medium writer’s perfect piece, Why You Must Watch Emily in Paris by Anu Anniah.

Writer’s Log: Connie Song 2020.

--

--

Connie Song
Share The Love

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.