POETRY

Guinness on Your Nose

A Free Verse Poem & Haiku Response to Martin Rushton’s “Red Nose”

James G Brennan
Share The Love
Published in
2 min readJul 16, 2020

--

Photo by James. G. Brennan.

I. Haiku.

Irish groundworker
With his big bulbous red nose
Drunk too much Guinness.

II. Free Verse Poem.

Ten pints o’ Guinness
Of an evening
That’s where I got this yea know,
It cost me a feckin’ fortune!

A hard days labour in da pissin’ rain
At the end of a big feckin’ shovel,
And yea would be goin’ at it
Just da feckin’ same.

They can put a man on da moon,
And I’m down here with a feckin’ shovel,
Diggin’ out this feckin’ hole!

I just couldn’t leave da wife alone,
Now here I am, ten of da feckers!
All pullin’ out of me for a new pair of shoes
A sports kit, pens and feckin’ pencils.

I’m tellin’ yea boy, you listen to me now,
And look at me dead in the eye,
My advice you’d do well to take
Else you will end up just like me…

With this big fat feckin’ bulbous red nose.

Thank you for reading. J.

A Haiku response with a cheeky wee free verse poem to Martin Rushton’s “Red nose” Haiku.

It is by will alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the desire to write
that thoughts acquire speed, the mind acquires words,
words become Poetry. It is by will alone I set my mind in motion.
Frank Herbert and Me.

--

--

James G Brennan
Share The Love

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.