I’m Making A Clubhouse Profile Editor

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com
Published in
5 min readApr 22, 2021

BUILDING A CLUBHOUSE PROFILE EDITOR IN PUBLIC

I joined the Clubhouse community in March of 2021 and I was fascinated by the growing community, the hype, and the ease of tuning in with audio conversations.

But one thing was lacking in my experience, and made me wonder if this would be that itch that many people would like to be scratched:

How do I set up my Clubhouse profile properly?

Because participating and adding value early on is more important than perfection when it comes to new social networks — and building products as a maker — I decided to start working on my side-project in public:

Clubprofile.xyz is a better profile editor. Better as in; there are editors out there, that are basically just in-browser WYSIWYG editors.

Learning more about Clubhouse, how the app works, and reading what social media experts are advising, I decided to start a small project with the following goal in mind:

Create a Clubhouse profile editor that helps people to put in the right information and format and setup the text to create an optimized profile faster and easier

So what’s this going to mean for the editor?

Making a better editor

There were a couple of aspects that were unclear to me when starting out:

  • what should I tell about myself (is this a formal network like LinkedIn or a more informal one like Facebook)?
  • What info is visible wherein the app, and what does the profile add to the experience?
  • how should I format my profile and what elements are there?

Putting these aspects in the grinder, reading — and listening to — a lot of “recommendations on the optimal Clubhouse experience” made me want to make something that was:

  • simple to use
  • helpful in creating a better profile
  • saves time pondering and lets you focus on content, not the format

It’s about the strategy behind the product, not basic implementation — various makers

Won’t they steal your idea when you share it?

I don’t think so, and even when they “copy” the idea, I have a vision of what I want to tweak about it and do with it in the following steps.

Everything you make can be instantly copied, so why keep it to yourself until it is “done”?.

Creating the simplest, meanest version and shipping it is the focus.
And so is sharing the actual idea and a first glimpse. Any big corp can put 20 employees on any idea and copy it within days.

What also helped me to wrap my brain around this, is that I’m part of a maker community called WIP by Marc Kohlbrugge. There are a lot of entrepreneurs and indie/bootstrapping product makers there that have done the same thing before: building your product openly and logging your way towards shipping the MVP.

So, I decide to make this an experiment and:

  • stop worrying about keeping my idea for myself and focus on shipping
  • sharing my progress to be transparent, possibly inspire other makers
  • maybe trigger people that would like to use my product will join me in this story, possibly even give me very fast feedback
  • experimenting on the idea that it’s about the strategy behind the product, not basic implementation; will I “defeat” any copycats and show the value of a strategy and a mind behind the first version. Will it hold?

The very first sneak-peak

Okay, It’s still rough around the edges, but Clubprofile.xyz is basically a simple web form that:

  • guides you by explaining what info you should enter
  • explains why certain info is important

You, as the user, can choose what aspects matter more by filling them in and by pressing the button on the right side, you will get the optimized profile text.

My first wireframe shows the simplicity of it all:

A wireframe showing the screen layout for clubprofile.xyz: the clubhouse profile editor that lets you make an optimised profile, faster.

The profile text generation logic takes into account things like the maximum line lengths, best practices, format stuff. It also lets you choose styling stuff like the emojis being used for dividers, list items, … and other visualizations so you can choose a profile vibe that suits your goals and background.

The first version of this implementation looks as follows:

You can see I really stuck to my first wireframe setup and am working on the editor as I go.

The styling stuff is basic, and the profile theme options aren’t there yet.

I decided that the generate button and preview will stick on the screen and scroll along with the form when you enter stuff, which seems to be working out nicely and feels nice.

Right now, I’m working on the profile text generation part, and after a very basic version of theming will be implemented to the tool.

When it generates the profile text nicely, I’ll prepare a pre-launch and let the first users play along with it to find out how they like it and what can be altered to improve the usage of Clubprofile.xyz and the value it provides.

Any first thoughts/wants?

So, there you have it. The very first look into what I’m cooking up with Clubprofile.xyz.

What are your first thoughts about it? Is it something you’d use?
How would you use it? How are you using Clubhouse in general, and what is your background?

Drop me a line in the comments ????, I’m eager to learn your thoughts.

Sign up for the newsletter at WWW.CLUBPROFILE.XYZ to be amongst the first to learn about my progress, thoughts, and tactics used for creating Clubprofile.xyz

Clubprofile.xyz: the Clubhouse profile editor that will help you to create an optimized profile, faster

And remember my credo:

Create. Value. First.

This article is also published on Medium

Originally published at Shipharder.

--

--

Edwin Klesman
Shipharder.com

Senior dev @Detacom | cross-platform mobile & web dev | Product Maker | SaaS | from app ideas to implementation | Owner eekayonline.com | Music: edsonkailes.com