Nvidia demo: Engineer drives a real car from inside VR

Nvidia combines its Virtual Reality Holodeck application with Self Driving Cars so a human can take over a vehicle remotely in the event of a problem.

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io
4 min readMar 28, 2018

--

by Micah Blumberg, Researcher / Journalist (about)

During CEO Jensen Huang’s keynote at GTC 2018 (GPU Technology Conference) Nvidia put one of their engineers in virtual reality on the stage to drive an autonomous car in VR that was hooked to a real car that was located outside in the parking lot. From inside VR the engineer on stage drove the real car around a truck and parked it next to other cars in the parking lot with no trouble whatsoever. It’s interesting to note that the car has so many redundancy systems in place it’s Drive AI that having a human driver take over remotely may not ever be necessary.

I have a three videos to share, the first from Nvidia and the second from my seat in the front row that I filmed with Facebook’s Live feature on my phone, and the 3rd video from my DLSR camera which was just pointed at the main screen.

This video should start at the 2 minute 20 second mark:

Below is the video that I filmed with my phone via Facebook Live, while I was also filming with the DSLR what was happening was all over the stage so I used to phone to show the driver in conjunction with the screens were seeing that you can see illustrated the in photos above.

Here is the video from my DSLR

Pictures of the Self Driving Car from the lobby at GTC 2018

Recent articles from GTC 2018

Privacy in the age of Internet of Things, Alexa, Google Assistant, with Homomorphic Encryption and AI: At GTC 2018 I interviewed Nigel Cannings with Intelligent Voice

HTC Vive’s Commercial Business Strategy for Virtual Reality

--

--

SVGN.io
Silicon Valley Global News SVGN.io

Silicon Valley Global News: VR, AR, WebXR, 3D Semantic Segmentation AI, Medical Imaging, Neuroscience, Brain Machine Interfaces, Light Field Video, Drones