How I fixed FANATEC CSW V2.5 on my Desk or Table

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo
6 min readDec 31, 2020

I rewrote this based on my Japanese article.

Please note that this method was for temporary use. I finally fixed my FANATEC CSW V2.5 on the sim cockpit below.

I bought FANATEC products below and they came earlier than I build my cockpit. The motivation I fix them on my desk is that I wanted to play with the FANATEC products earlier than building the cockpit.

Fanatec CSW V2.5
Fanatec ClubSport Steering Wheel F1 Esports
Fanatec CSL Elite Pedals

Maybe ordinary people will buy the table clamp V2 below to fix them on the desk. But it’s expensive for my temporary setup!!

I received the products. But as I said, I didn’t have a cockpit at that time.

I wanted to play… I wanted to play… with CSW V2.5!!
But this CSW V2.5 is considered to be fixed by the screw bolts on a few-millimeters metal plate. That’s why it’s difficult to fix the CSW V2.5 on the wooden desk. Furthermore, the reasons below also made it difficult to fix on my desk/table.

CSW V2.5 doesn’t include a clamp
・The screw bolts, included in the CSW V2.5 package, are very short.
・Screw holes on the CSW V2.5 base plate were difficult to access.

I’m not sure that this article helps general persons who will buy or bought the CSW V2.5. Anyway, I’ll try to memo my experience.

This is my DIY desk. I’ll use this as a temporary cockpit.

Drilling Tap holes

I made 3 holes. Though the metal base frame has 4 screw holes, I can only use 3 of them due to its structure.

Fixing the CSW V2.5 frame from the top.

My desk mainly consists of 2x4 planks of wood. On the top, I used 1cm- thickness wooden plates. At the front, there’s 2x4 frame under the wooden plate, which means the area is tough.

I tightened a long screw at the red part in the picture below.

And I added the short wooden block in front of the desk to stabilize the frame.

Please note, you can’t screw the rest of the 3 holes from the top because there’s a frame over them. It seems it’s clear over the holes but this photo was taken from the tilted angle.

I think these positions of the holes have an area for improvement. (I have already made my cockpit, so I don’t need this original frame…)

Fix the frame From the Reveres Side

At the back, under the frame, there is only a thin 1cm wooden plate of my desk. But I wanted to fix the CSW V2.5. The length of the attached screws is about 1cm. I had to carve the wooden plate a little for the screw head to go deeper. I recommend to buy and use longer ones. But at that time, I wanted to play with FANATEC as soon as possible!

Stabilize the Pitch Axis

Due to the lack of rigidity of the wooden-1cm-plate, the CSW V2.5 moved along the pitch axis. (The direction to sink when the car accelerates and brakes.) Therefore, I added a 2x4 wooden block as explained before. It made some effects to improve rigidity.

When I played with the iRacing MX-5 race, the sideway was fine, but the stiffness of the pitch direction was still not enough. But I could use it.

Ver.1 Office chair with a heavy toolbox as a stopper

I’ll show you the temporary cockpit. As the chair has wheels, I put the toolbox on the back of the chair.

My FANATEC CSL Elite pedals’ brake has a resin to make the brake more solid. Though I set the toolbox, when I used the brake, the chair went back. So I removed the resin.

Removed

Ver.2 Bucket Seat on the heavy toolbox

I got the bucket seat! So I could play in a better environment. The height of the pedals was adjusted with the woods.

This is the example that shows the weakness of my temporary cockpit on the heavy power condition. The CSW V2.5 vibrates along the pitch axis. This vibration occurred due to a lack of tuning of CSW V2.5. It’s easy to reduce the vibration if you tuned in.

What I want to say is, you have to fix it on the solid frames. (Maybe it’s ok on the 2x4 if you fix hardly.

<CSW V2.5 Review>

<My articles>

If you want to know how I fix CSW V2.5 on the aluminum frame, please check the below link

I explain this on DIY Aluminum Race Sim Cockpit Setup for FANATEC 4/4 (Assembling)

My Twitter

https://twitter.com/maskiracing

--

--

MASKiracing
My Race SIM review from Simracer.tokyo

iRacing from mid2020 , I'll follow iRacing racers. Please be my friend, 992GT3CUP, Skip, DD1, Formula V2, SPS, Ryzen9 5900X, 2070Super, Quest2