A mural in San Fransisco (Photo by Susan Foster. Screenshot of photo created and highlighted by Susan Foster)

This Street Art Spoke to Me

September Six Word Photo Story Challenge: “Shadows”

Susan Foster
Six Word Photo Story Challenge
2 min readSep 29, 2023

--

A grasshopper’s shadow. Was it Jiminy?

No, wait! Jiminy was a cricket, not a grasshopper. But it was him (the cartoon version) that I imagined as I read this whimsical street art poetry in North Beach near Chinatown, San Fransisco. This mural is located at the Vesuvio Cafe and across from the City Lights Bookstore.

Everything about A.O.’s mural spoke to me. The vibrant colors. The whimsical poem. But, mostly, the concept of a grasshopper’s shadow. Thinking of its tiny shadow saying across the trail of a mouse conjured up a tiny world I seldom notice beneath my feet.

Have I ever even seen a grasshopper’s shadow? I’m not sure — but I’ll be on the lookout from now on!

NOTE: The highlighting of the word “shadow” is not on the mural. I simply added an emphasis to my photo for this story.

As always, Many thanks to Mary Chang Story Writer, Sandi Parsons, and Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles for always providing such fun themes and editing the photos and stories people write about them.

Here are just a few people who have created other six-word stories about shadows with cool photos: Sharing Randomly, Mystical Aries, Elin Melaas, and Nancy S Rust (this one shows the shadow of a snail!)

More of my writing can be found on my lifestyle blog The Most –of Every Moment, and my author webpage Susan Foster, Author. (Image created by Susan Foster using Ribbet.)

For more of my writing, I’d love it if you sign up for my free newsletter while you are there.

--

--

Susan Foster
Six Word Photo Story Challenge

Susan lives in Montana with her husband and a clever Jenga-playing dog. The author of a regrettably neglected blog, she hopes to publish her debut novel soon.