FOR LOVE OR PEANUT BUTTER

A Tale Of Two Neighbors: The Hot One And The Wing-woman

It was the best of times (unexpected romance?), it was the worst of times (everything else in 2020!)…

Kelly Shanley
Slackjaw
Published in
6 min readAug 26, 2021

--

Illustration by Emily Clouse

If you’ve been following my column, I’ve introduced two suitors to you from my accidental summer of love, under their highly classified codenames, A and B. Two down, two to go. Next up is C, who I met thanks to a hungry bear and a persistent wing-woman.

Last summer, my mom rented her house to a very nice couple, so mom and I packed up and stayed at the river house. (Two houses?! Yeah, not on purpose. My mom bought one to downsize and listed the river house, but it didn’t sell for three years!)

Anyway, Stephanie was the woman renting the house and she had requested a new oil screen for cooking. My mom ordered one but it was delivered to our house instead of Stephanie’s. So when Stephanie texted us out of the blue saying that the neighbor’s “hot grandson” was sitting on the deck and that one of my mom’s girls should “get our butts over there right now,” I figured I could use the oil screens as my excuse to casually drive over and see if this so-called grandson was, in fact, hot. And hopefully age appropriate.

--

--

Kelly Shanley
Slackjaw

LA based writer/podcaster/comedian/mountain girl at heart. Outdoor lover, world traveler, loud laugher. https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/kelly-shanley