Early Adopters S01E10 — Transition

Marc Gamet
Slash
Published in
3 min readMay 17, 2019

Continued from previous episode s01e09: Amir hacks the school drones and have them announce what Mr. Lee has done. The chip inserted in the students’ phones is a shocking news that forces the principal to lift Jane’s suspension and take disciplinary measures against Mr. Lee to save the school’s reputation.

Amir looked on from the classroom. He let out a big sigh of relief.

“This what happens to you when you take something that is not yours,” he murmured to himself. “ That was my program. Now I hope you get punished Mr. Lee”.

He lightly pressed down the top of his laptop and walked out of the room.

The next day, Mr. Lee was seen sitting on his swivel chair and twisted it around as he took a final look at everything in the office.

“This was the kind of office I imagined sitting in for the rest of my life,” Mr. Lee said with a slight disappointment in his voice.

He got up, ran his fingers across the surface of the table as he walked by, then smiled before leaving his letter of resignation on the desk. He carefully closed the door behind him as he stepped out.

Amir watched Mr. Lee’s back as he exited the gates until he was out of sight. Then he returned to typing on his laptop.

“You can tell people about me, but I am pretty sure you won’t because in reality you are too weak,” Amir thought. “Goodbye,” he whispered as he rested his head on the table amidst the classroom noise.

“I am not sure why I was told to go back to school, but I have the feeling you are behind this!” Jasmin exclaimed as soon as she stepped into the classroom.

“I guess,” Amir gave her a quick glance before responding. “But, see, I told you I would get you back to school.”

“And you think that’s what I wanted to hear? I don’t know how you did it, but I am sure it’s something I wouldn’t want to know. It’s about time you start changing your ways or it might get you into real trouble,” Jasmin replied while pushing down the screen of Amir’s laptop.

“I don’t think that is necessary. I can take care of myself. I can look after everyone.”

“You are a fool. There will always be bad people with more skills than you” Jasmin’s brows furrowed before she turned her back against Amir and walked away.

Amir sat motionless while he watched her leave the room. It looked out the window as he brushed his brows outward with his fingers. Then he put on a serious face and pushed his glasses up as he pressed enter on his laptop. A few seconds later, his phone vibrated with emails of money transfer transactions.

Back in his office, the principal stood by his window. His forehead wrinkled as he walked back to his seat. The telephone rang for a minute before he ultimately decided to pick it up. A drop of sweat rolled down the side of his face as he recongized the voice on the other end of the phone line.

Previous: s01e01, s01e02, s01e03, s01e04, s01e05, s01e06, s01e07, s01e08, s01e09

Brought to you by Slash.

Written and created by Marc Gamet and Mianne Cudal.

Story-telling Consultant: Robin Narciso.

Drawing by Faisal Arief.

--

--

Marc Gamet
Slash
Editor for

Co-Founder and Tech Director of Slash | What world are we building?