You Can’t Avoid Pitching Your List And Expect to Build a Salary-Replacing Income

Real talk: you’re wasting your time and energy if you’re afraid of pitching your list.

Martin Messier
Solopreneur Slingshot
3 min readJul 16, 2024

--

Photo by Constantin Panagopoulos on Unsplash

One of the things I hear often in solopreneur circles is this fear of pitching the list.

Here’s what they say: “I don’t want to pitch my list too hard because people are going to unsubscribe.”

That’s actually one of the two outcomes you SHOULD want.

Let’s unpack this.

Are you tracking the right metric?

So you’re scared to pitch.

At this core, here’s what it means:

The number of people on your list who don’t give you money is more important to you than the number of people who do.

Re-read this one more time.

If you’re a solopreneur and you’re looking to build a salary-replacing income, does this belief support you?

Here’s the truth: having a million people on your email list that don’t buy anything from you makes no sense.

It’s irrelevant.

Think about it: you’re valuing people who don’t value you.

It’s a pointless metric to pay attention to.

Do you believe in your product or service?

Do you believe what you offer can help people?

If so, pitch the hell out of it.

I have no problem talking about my programs and courses all day, every day. I’ve talked to so many people trying to learn NLP over the past 20 years I know exactly where they’re stuck and why they’re stuck, because I was once in their shoes and it took me a while to get myself out of that state.

I feel no shame in inviting them to join a program or course because I’m going to give them the way out. They’ll save ten years of wasted time trying to sort it out on their own and will reap the benefits a lot earlier than I did.

So I’ll ask you again: do you truly believe what you offer can help people?

Then you better tell ‘em.

Again and again.

Keep your eye on the ball

If you’re a solopreneur, your list is the economic engine of your business. It’s where most of your revenue comes from.

Let’s run a quick analysis to see if my logic is faulty…

Do most of your clients buy from you the first instant they discover you? Do they see something you post on Medium and then buy your stuff?

Of course not.

(Unless, of course, you have an Ice Cream Funnel.)

They’ll read you on Medium for some time, and then they’ll subscribe to your email list. You might have to email them for some time and, eventually, they’ll buy from you.

I ran through my subscriber lists from the past ten years to see how many pitches it took before someone decided to buy from me. In some cases, it took more than thirty emails pitching my offers.

If one of your subscribers gives up and unsubscribes on the first or second pitch, do you think they’ll make it to pitch #30?

Hell no!

The only two outcomes you want

Desired Outcome #1: Someone subscribes to your list, becomes a client, and continues expanding their commercial relationship with you over time.

Desired Outcome #2: Someone subscribes to your list, realizes quickly it’s not for them, and unsubscribes.

If someone doesn’t want what you have to offer, you want them to go seek a different provider that can help them.

If they do, help them become your customer as fast as they can.

So pitch your list already!

And if you want help getting out of your own way, email me at mm@martinmessier.ca.

(See what I did there? I pitched! And you still love me. Pitch your list!)

--

--