To Some of the Women Who Have Changed My Life for the Better

A 40-year-old man's tribute to International Women’s Day and insight into the perspective of junior female engineers

Leon Purton
Sparks Publication

--

Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

I recently became a committee member for my employer's Women’s International Network group. I sought out this role, and our first event is to celebrate International Women’s Day. As part of that celebration, I decided to tell you what International Women’s Day means to me.

I’ll do it by telling you about the amazing women that have impacted my life in subtle and large ways. But I won’t mention my mother, even though she has had an amazing impact on me. If you want to read more about her, you can read the article I wrote for Mother’s Day. Or my partner, even though she is amazing and has made my life so much better.

Instead, I’ll talk about teachers, actors, elite athletes, activists fighting for inclusivity, and the most impactful of all of them, the wonderful ladies I’ve mentored in recent years because they have had the biggest impact on my mindset about the importance of an inclusive workplace.

For young women, the most important message is “it is their differences and not their conformance to historical…

--

--

Leon Purton
Sparks Publication

Inspired by life. Leadership, Growth, Personal Development. Engineer and Sports Enthusiast. Top Writer in Leadership leonpurton.com