Bringing Up The Past

Is there a time to just ‘let it go’?

Heather Bradford
Speaking Bipolar

--

Click here to read for free!

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Last night my daughter asked if I had written the article about the impact of me going manic on my kids. I had alluded to it and questioned them about their memories. She doesn’t like reading, and when I confirmed I had, she asked me to read it to her.

I started crying mid-way through the telling and my daughter joined in. I probably set her off but we read and sniffled together. It felt close and natural.

When I was done, we smiled ruefully, and I blew my nose, pulling myself back together.

As I said, my daughter had told me her memories that allowed me to write the article in the first place, but now she shared a little more.

Firstly, she shared that for the longest time she thought she’d lost her mother. I was an empty shell to her and she is delighted that she now has her mum back. Our bond is stronger than ever and “I love you” is a well-used part of our vocabulary.

--

--

Heather Bradford
Speaking Bipolar

Passionate writer weaving spirituality, motivation, and inspiration into every word. Sign up for a FREE newsletter at HeatherBradfordWrites.com