How Trying New Things Can Lead to Unexpected Successes

The post I didn’t want to write became one of the most popular ones.

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar
Published in
4 min readOct 20, 2022

--

Image created by author with Canva.

I’m working with a company to increase traffic to my Speaking Bipolar blog. Every week, the company assigns me tasks I need to do that week. With most things, I’m a dedicated rule follower, but the rules have to make sense. Leave me confused about the value of a rule and I’ll ignore it.

One recent assignment was to write a post about the Mark Twain quote, “If it’s your job to eat a frog, it’s best to do it first thing in the morning. And if it’s your job to eat two frogs, it’s best to eat the biggest one first.” My end product was supposed to center on how you could apply the “eat the frog” method to bipolar disorder.

“You have to take risks. We will only understand the miracle of life fully when we allow the unexpected to happen.” — Paulo Coelho

Proving Me Wrong

To be brutally honest, I thought it was a stupid idea. Years ago, I wrote a similar post. While I enjoyed it, very few readers paid attention to it. Yet, my week was ending and the stupid frog assignment was the only task undone. It taunted me until I sat down and wrote the story.

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia