Service Dogs, Psych Wards, and Special News (and more!)

Content from the week ending June 29, 2024, and Scott’s update

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

--

Welcome! | Image made by author with Canva.

Links to last week’s content are at the bottom of the newsletter.

New Writers

A big warm welcome to our two newest writers: 🎉

Florence Glad: “I write to share personal insights and foster understanding, aiming to empower and support others on their journeys to wellness.”

Heather Bradford: “I made it all the way to my late 40s before having my first manic episode. It was traumatic since we had no exposure previously to any type of mental health issues. I seek to educate and de-stigmatize mental health so others can have a more positive experience than my family did.”

Announcements

July 2024 Writing Prompt

  • When we think of gratitude, our minds may reflect on images of yellow daisies or blue butterflies, but what about the unpretty things that make your life better? Inspired by Kerry Purvis’s story, My Unpretty Gratitude List, our July writing prompt is: Show us your unpretty gratitude list.
  • Please tag me (@speakingbipolar) in your response and mention this prompt, so I know to add your story to the list. Thanks!

Scott’s Weekly Update

I’m all about celebrating the small wins just as much as the giant victories. Friday, I received this email from Medium:

Screenshot by author

Sure, that number isn’t anything near some publications, such as The Startup’s 781k, but it’s still worth celebrating.

Last year, when Medium Day was announced, I couldn’t apply with the publication because we had fewer than 200 followers. As of today, we’re at 1,087, which for you number nerds like me, more than a 500-percent increase.

So get out your party hats and toast your favorite drink because the publication is growing thanks to all of you wonderful writers and readers.

Image from Giphy

Thank you!

Until next time, keep fighting.

Scott Ninneman

Best of Speaking Bipolar

New writers welcome. Share your mental illness journey, poetry, and mental health tips by writing for Speaking Bipolar on Medium. Click here to find out how.

--

--

Scott Ninneman
Speaking Bipolar

Helping you understand and thrive with bipolar disorder. Editor of the Speaking Bipolar Publication. Let's connect: https://speakingbipolar.com/socialmedia